Salt of the Earth

Salt of the Earth

by Ricky Skaggs & The WhitesRicky Skaggs & The Whites


$12.88 $13.99 Save 8% Current price is $12.88, Original price is $13.99. You Save 8%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 17


Ricky Skaggs and Sharon White celebrated their 25th anniversary in 2007, so it's a wonder it took that long for them, along with Sharon's sister Cheryl White, and Buck White, the sisters' dad, to record a full album together. On their own, the Whites have proven a consistently strong outfit, flitting easily between bluegrass, mainstream country, and mostly gospel, and it's within that last genre that the 13 songs of Salt of the Earth reside. Skaggs, meanwhile, has proven for decades a master not only of anything remotely country, but virtually everything he's tried his hand at -- his recent collaboration with keyboardist Bruce Hornsby even found the two of them reconstructing Rick James' funk anthem "Super Freak"! Salt of the Earth is not about experimentation though, it's about tradition. These are all simple tales of faith and conviction, using the basic acoustic instrumentation of guitar, mandolin, fiddle, and bass. Nothing electric, nothing noisy, just wood and strings. But not surprisingly it's the vocal harmonies that dominate the proceedings throughout. Lead vocals are taken by each of the four, and the tight harmonies that have brightened all of the Whites' previous efforts are in ample supply here. While it's true that Skaggs and the Whites add nothing new to standards like "This Old House," "Wings of a Dove," and "Let it Shine," they don't really need to: they just give these chestnuts everything they've got, and that's plenty.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2007
Label: Skaggs Family
UPC: 0669890500221
catalogNumber: 905002
Rank: 3427


  1. Love Will Be Enough
  2. Homesick for Heaven
  3. Big Wheel
  4. Salt of the Earth
  5. Wreck on the Highway
  6. Farther Along
  7. Let It Shine
  8. Near the Cross
  9. One Seed of Love
  10. This Old House
  11. Wings of a Dove
  12. Blessed Assurance
  13. The Solid Rock

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ricky Skaggs & The Whites   Primary Artist
Ricky Skaggs   Bouzouki,Dobro,Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Soloist,Vocal Harmony
Buck White   Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Brent King   Percussion
Paul Liem   Percussion,Drums
Jeff Taylor   Accordion
Cheryl White   Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Sharon White   Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Cody Kilby   Guitar,Soloist
Mark Fain   Bass
Jeff Taylor   Piano,Accordion
Andy Leftwich   Fiddle
Jim "Moose" Brown   Piano,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Molly Skaggs   Autoharp

Technical Credits

Ricky Skaggs   Liner Notes
Don Gibson   Composer
Paul Overstreet   Composer
Janis Ian   Composer
Stuart Hamblen   Composer
Bob Ferguson   Composer
Brent King   Engineer
Sharon White   Composer
Kelly Willard   Composer
John Dorris   Management
Edward Mote   Composer
Ricky Skaggs & The Whites   Audio Production
J.R. Baxter Jr.   Composer

Customer Reviews