Ruby Sparks [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Ruby Sparks [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Nick Urata


$13.29 $14.99 Save 11% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $14.99. You Save 11%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 29
3 New & Used Starting at $6.97


Since scoring the hit indie film Little Miss Sunshine in 2006, composer Nick Urata -- known in indie music circles as singer and multi-instrumentalist of Gypsy-style alt-rockers DeVotchKa -- has expanded his reach, crafting the sonic backdrop for features like Crazy, Stupid, Love. and I Love You Phillip Morris. In 2012, Urata traveled back to the roots of his film composing career as directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris tapped him for their return to the silver screen, the fantasy-like rom-com Ruby Sparks. Following a novelist who overcomes writer's block after the title character emerges on the page and suddenly in life, Urata echoes the film's sense of joy and wonder in a series of songs based around swelling, swirling strings, propulsive percussion, and enigmatic vocalizations ("Creation," "I Was Waiting for You"), expanding to baroque brass as the story unfolds ("Inseparable," "Ruby Was Just Ruby"). In addition to Urata's compositions, Ruby Sparks [Music from the Motion Picture] collects throwback European pop songs (Sylvie Vartan's "Quand Tu Es Là," Plastic Bertrand's "Ça Plane Pour Moi") and a pair of mischievous reggae tunes (Derrick Harriott's "Psychedelic Train," the Lions' "Roll It Round") for added groovy fun. ~ Chrysta Cherrie

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2012
Label: Milan Records
UPC: 0731383658020
catalogNumber: 36580
Rank: 177052

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Urata   Primary Artist
Plastic Bertrand   Vocals
Sylvie Vartan   Vocals
Adam Peters   Cello
Elliott Gould   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Derrick Harriott   Vocals
Lions   Band
Christopher "Black Shakespeare" Shakespeare   Vocals
Paul Dano   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Timur Bekbosunov   Vocals
Alexander Walker   Vocals
Holden   Band

Technical Credits

George McFetridge   Cover Design
Deston Berry   Composer
Clay   Producer
Lou Deprijck   Composer
Alex Desert   Composer
Derrick Harriott   Composer
Tom Cavanaugh   Music Business Affairs
Clint Ballard   Composer
Yves M. Lacomblez   Composer
David Wilder   Composer
Jason LaRocca   Engineer
Steve Kaye   Composer
James King   Composer
Dan Ubick   Composer
Blake Colie   Composer
Sergio Rios   Composer
Nick Urata   Composer
Dan Hastie   Composer
Christopher "Black Shakespeare" Shakespeare   Composer
Malik Moore   Composer
Armelle Pioline   Composer
Danny Stimac   Engineer
Shawn Lyon   Layout
Stefan Karrer   Executive Producer
Jeff Biggers   Engineer
Davey Chegwidden   Composer
Dave Goodwin   Composer
Roya Melamed   Music Business Affairs
Jon Ong   Engineer
JC Camboredon   Executive Producer
Dominique Depret   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews