Royal Mint

Royal Mint

by Cash Box KingsCash Box Kings


$18.64 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.64, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Cash Box Kings worked the Midwest blues circuit -- they're based in Chicago, even if their founding member, Joe Nosek, resides in Wisconsin -- for many years before signing with Alligator Records, the premier modern Chicago blues imprint, in 2017. All those years of steady gigging are apparent on Royal Mint, the group's first set for Alligator. From the moment the record kicks off with "House Party," a rollicking shuffle propelled by dirty guitars and wailing horns, it's evident that this combo can take all the old grooves of '50s and '60s 45s and make them sound fresh, simply by retaining a heavy dose of guitar grit while making the grooves hop and swing. That visceral thrill alone would make Royal Mint a pleasure, but what makes the album sound vital is how Nosek and his vocalist partner, Oscar Wilson, are intent on pushing the past into the present by pairing covers of Jimmy Reed, Amos Milburn, and Robert Johnson with songs about the modern world. Sometimes these tunes are funny -- "If You Got a Jealous Woman Facebook Ain't Your Friend" brings the cheating song into the digital age -- but the pointed satire of the anti-Trump "Build That Wall" ("the unexamined life is where it's at") and the barbed, angry "Blues for Chi-Raq" are proof positive that the blues is a living, breathing thing that can bend with the times. By adding these sharp critiques of the 2010s to a record that celebrates the visceral kick of classic electric blues, the Cash Box Kings wind up with a rocking little record that feels vital in a way few modern blues albums do.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/2017
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551497622
catalogNumber: 4976
Rank: 34848

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cash Box Kings   Primary Artist
Jim Doherty   Trumpet
Mark Haines   Drums,Group Member
Mel Ford   Rhythm Guitar
Joel Paterson   Guitar,Group Member
Billy Flynn   Guitar,Mandolin,Group Member
Falaschi   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Oscar Wilson   Vocals,Group Member
Joe Nosek   Harmonica,Vocals,Group Member
Darren Sterud   Trombone
Kenny "Beedy Eyes" Smith   Drums,Group Member
Alex Hall   Drums
Brad Ber   Electric Bass,Upright Bass,Group Member
Lee Kanehira   Organ,Piano

Technical Credits

Jimmy Reed   Composer
Ernie Freeman   Composer
Robert Johnson   Composer
Mel London   Composer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Mark Haines   Engineer
Mathis James Reed   Composer
Amos Blakemore   Composer
Oscar Wilson   Composer
Joe Nosek   Composer,Producer
Isabelle Collier   Composer

Customer Reviews