Round Trip: Live in L.A. [Bonus Tracks]

Round Trip: Live in L.A. [Bonus Tracks]

by John McEuenJohn McEuen

CD(Expanded / Bonus Tracks)

$16.31 $16.99 Save 4% Current price is $16.31, Original price is $16.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


This delightful live recording finds John McEuen (former leader of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band) on-stage in his hometown, obviously completely at ease and spinning out a long program of tunes both standard ("I Am a Pilgrim," "Sheik of Araby") and original ("Good Old Boys Texas," "Night Flight"). The focus is on instrumentals, with McEuen taking the lead on guitar and banjo, but he also sings a few (including the inevitable "Mr. Bojangles") in his agreeably undistinguished voice. Surprises include a very attractive banjo arrangement of an old Muzio Clementi piano etude and a boot-stomping version of "Kiss" that probably makes the diminutive purple artist formerly known as Prince go into convulsions whenever (if ever) he hears it -- young John McEuen approximating a soul falsetto is not something you'd want to hear without a good night's rest and a fully functioning sense of humor. Best of all are the Merle Travis songs and stories; McEuen's renditions of "Cannonball Rag" and "I Am a Pilgrim" are warm and wonderful. Highly recommended. [This version of Round Trip: Live in L.A

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2005
Label: Rural Rhythm
UPC: 0732351102620
catalogNumber: 1026
Rank: 133364


  1. Finger Buster
  2. Clementi
  3. L.A. Devil's Dream
  4. Good Old Boys Texas
  5. Merle Travis Story
  6. Cannonball Rag
  7. Early Arrival
  8. From the 60's (Pasadena and the Good Old Day)
  9. Mr. Bojangles
  10. I Am a Pilgrim
  11. Kiss
  12. Night Flight
  13. Gate Change
  14. Before You Accuse Me
  15. The Sheik of Araby
  16. Swing to Bop
  17. Leaving the Club
  18. I'll Be Glad When They Run Outta Gas
  19. The Goodtime Suite
  20. The Ballad of Floyd Collins

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John McEuen   Primary Artist,Banjo,Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals,5-string Banjo
Randy Tico   Bass
Phil Salazar   Fiddle
Vassar Clements   Fiddle
Bryan Savage   Saxophone
Matt Cartsonis   Guitar,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Tom Corbett   Mandolin
Jonathan McEuen   Guitar,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Jesse Seibenerg   Percussion

Technical Credits

Jesse Fuller   Composer
Merle Travis   Composer
Prince   Composer
John McEuen   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Art Direction,Audio Production
Jerry Jeff Walker   Composer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Marty Rosamond   Cover Design,Cover Photo
Hans Jákup Olsen   Composer
Mike Denecke   Audio Production

Customer Reviews