Rose of Bethlehem

Rose of Bethlehem

by SelahSelah


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


Vocal trio Selah -- siblings Todd and Nicol Smith and friend Allan Hall -- bring their signature dulcet tones to the Christmas genre with this lovely and lyrical holiday release. The trio has made its name (and earned three Dove awards) for breathing fresh life into traditional hymns, and Rose of Bethlehem continues in that tradition. This project is a mix of timeless carols ("Silent Night," "O Holy Night," "O Come O Come Emmanuel"), the Smiths' own original compositions ("Noel," "Joy" and "Mystery"), and contemporary songs (such as the lovely title track). The Smiths and Hall are all distinctive vocalists, but their voices blend beautifully, and the production is perfectly balanced to allow the gorgeous Selah vocal mix to shine. A variety of moods are created here, from the reverence of the traditional pieces to the summer camp sing-along cheer of "Light of the Stable" and the world-beat rhythms of Todd Smith's "Noel," sung in the African language of Kituba. A collection this special doesn't need any added incentives to give it a listen, but here's one anyway: Dolly Parton joins in on a chorus of her own "Once Upon a Christmas," making Rose of Bethlehem a delight for Christmases present and future.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/29/2002
Label: Curb Special Markets
UPC: 0715187872028
catalogNumber: 78720
Rank: 158525


  1. Silent Night
  2. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  3. Light of the Stable
  4. Once Upon a Christmas
  5. What Child Is This?
  6. Joy
  7. Noel
  8. O Holy Night
  9. Mystery
  10. Rose of Bethlehem

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Selah   Primary Artist
Dolly Parton   Vocals,Background Vocals
John Jorgenson   Electric Guitar
Eric Darken   Percussion
Joe Chemay   Bass
David Angell   Musician
John Catchings   Musician
George Cocchini   Electric Guitar
Jim Grosjean   Musician
Anthony LaMarchina   Musician
Paul Leim   Drums,Djembe
Blair Masters   Keyboards
Pamela Sixfin   Musician
Jackie Street   Bass
Gary VanOsdale   Musician
Mary Kathryn Van Osdale   Violin,Soloist
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar
Nicol Sponberg   Vocals,Background Vocals
Chris Tait   Background Vocals
Kyle Jason   Background Vocals
Craig Young   Bass
Elizabeth Stewart   Musician
Tony Morra   Drums
Allan Hall   Piano,Background Vocals
Todd Smith   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Adolphe Adam   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Paul Leim   Programming
Michael Omartian   Arranger
Nicol Sponberg   Arranger,Producer,Liner Notes
Kyle Jason   Producer,Engineer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
John Sullivan Dwight   Composer
John Mason Neale   Composer
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction
Allan Hall   Arranger,Producer,Liner Notes
Traditional   Composer
Greg Call   Cover Illustration
William Chatterton Dix   Composer
Todd Smith   Arranger,Producer,Liner Notes
Paul Mills   Engineer,String Arrangements

Customer Reviews