Root Damage

Root Damage


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Root Damage is a two-disc, 49-track look at Sympathy for the Record Industry's blues output between 1989 and 2003. The label has long been a proud bastion of loud, raucous sounds from the garage and anywhere else music is played with abandon. Their approach to the blues over the years has been similar, and the fruits of their efforts make for a filthy listening experience. The artists they have recorded range from the authentic Southern sounds of R.L. Burnside, Junior Kimbrough, and CeDell Davis to the classic punk-blues of the Gun Club, '68 Comeback, and Panther Burns to the Childish British blues of Holly Golightly, Dan Melchior, and the man himself, Billy Childish, to the country blues of the Reigning Sound, Mark Spitz Freestyle, and Monsieur Jeffrey Evans to the modern supercharged punk-blues of the Soledad Brothers, Mr. Airplane Man, and Pearlene. The highlights of the set are quite plentiful, but the best of them are former Flamin' Groovie Chris Wilson's drunken acoustic "Dark Haired Girl," the Kirby Grips' country blues at the junior prom-sounding "Needless," the Deadly Snakes' yowling "Love Undone," Wreckless Eric's boozy "Harry's Flat," the Gibson Brothers' manic "Memphis Chicken," and an early lo-fi track from Beck, "Leave Me on the Moon." The disc flows as easily as the cheap beer in the kind of rundown dive you can picture most of these bands playing in. Add to the great music some illuminating liner notes by label boss Long Gone John and you end up with a package well worth the effort of tracking down by anyone with even a faint interest in indie punk-blues, as well as anyone who digs the winners of the punk-blues sweepstakes, the White Stripes.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/2003
Label: Sympathy 4 The R.I.
UPC: 0790276071322
catalogNumber: 713
Rank: 65778

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Hoyt Axton   Composer
Buck Owens   Composer
Mississippi Fred McDowell   Composer
R.L. Burnside   Composer
Dave Boyer   Composer
Junior Kimbrough   Composer
Beck   Composer
CeDell Davis   Composer
James Ferrell   Composer
Jeffrey Lee Pierce   Composer
Matt Verta-Ray   Composer
Ron Ward   Composer
Carla Bozulich   Composer
Don Howland   Composer
Elmo Williams   Composer
Jeffrey Evans   Composer
Deadly Snakes   Composer
Dan Melchior   Composer
Greg Cartwright   Composer
Jack Yarber   Composer
Hezekiah Early   Composer
Jack-O & the Tearjerkers   Composer

Customer Reviews