Roller Girl

Roller Girl

by Victoria Jamieson

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780803740167
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 03/10/2015
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 10,858
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile: GN440L (what's this?)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Victoria Jamieson received her BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design. She worked as a children’s book designer before moving to Portland and becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for Pest in Show:

"Sure to tickle the fancy of fun- and pun-loving youngsters and would-be young stars. This silly read-, dance-, and sing-aloud could be a smash hit."—Kirkus Reviews

"Brimming with buggy puns, wordplay, reworked classics (“I’m Housefly the Garbage Man,” set to the tune of “Popeye the Sailor Man,” is the standout), matched in tone by Jamieson’s brash collage and acrylic cartoons—SLJ

Praise for Olympig:

"An amusing lesson in how to lose gracefully." —USA Today
"Jamieson snatches moral victory from the jaws of athletic defeat with warmth, satirical wit, and old-fashioned silliness." —SLJ
 

Customer Reviews