by Champion Jack DupreeChampion Jack Dupree


$20.94 $20.99 Save 0% Current price is $20.94, Original price is $20.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 11


The entries in Bear Family's ongoing Rocks series spotlight the hardest-rocking moments in an artist's catalog, sometimes offering a counter-narrative to an established narrative. In the case of Champion Jack Dupree, the hard-driving New Orleans blues and R&B pianist, his Rocks provides an introduction to his career that wasn't otherwise available when this was released in 2018. Drawing from recordings originally cut (and usually released) for Atlantic, Groove, Apollo, Red Robin, and Vik between 1951-1958, this is one of the rare cross-licensed collections from Dupree. Better still, all of the 29 tracks are electrically charged, gutbucket New Orleans R&B, exciting music that showcases Dupree's growl and groove in equal measure. Dupree would continue to record into the 1990s, and he also began recording ten years earlier than the decade showcased here, and while those sessions are often first-rate, the sides collected on Rocks were meant to be played on jukeboxes and had an eye for the outer reaches of the charts, which is why this is such a thrilling, invigorating listen: this is blues and R&B not made for posterity, but for living.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2018
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 5397102175367
catalogNumber: 17536
Rank: 88926


  1. All Night Party
  2. Stumbling Block Blues
  3. Number Nine Blues
  4. Shake Baby Shake
  5. Highway Blues
  6. Drunk Again
  7. Shim Sham Shimmy
  8. Somebody Changed the Lock
  9. The Ups
  10. Lonely Road Blues
  11. Story of My Life
  12. When I Got Married
  13. Dirty Woman
  14. Old Time Rock and Roll
  15. Down the Lane
  16. Rocky Mountain
  17. Just Like a Woman
  18. Shake Baby Shake
  19. The Wrong Woman
  20. You're Always Cryin' the Blues
  21. Woman Trouble Again
  22. My Baby's Like a Clock
  23. Hello Darlin'
  24. Lollipop Baby
  25. Shake Baby Shake
  26. Old Time Rock and Roll
  27. Stack-O-Lee
  28. Frankie and Johnny
  29. Nasty Boogie

Album Credits

Customer Reviews