Rock of Ages: The Definitive Collection

Rock of Ages: The Definitive Collection

by Def LeppardDef Leppard


$22.53 $23.99 Save 6% Current price is $22.53, Original price is $23.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


The 2005 double-disc set Rock of Ages: The Definitive Collection is the second Def Leppard compilation to be released in the U.S. The first, Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits, appeared ten years earlier, and while the band was active in the decade separating the two albums, charting fairly consistently, it didn't have any major hits during that time, so the chief appeal of Rock of Ages versus Vault is that it covers more ground. Vault had 15 songs. Rock of Ages has 35, including all of the songs on Vault. Actually, the first disc of Rock of Ages functions as an expanded version of that earlier comp, adding two cuts. The second disc skips around their career, wisely concentrating on their early-'80s albums, which were somewhat under-represented on Vault, and adding a new song for good measure (a cover of Badfinger's "No Matter What," which is from their "forthcoming covers album"). While this may be too much Def Leppard for some casual fans -- for those listeners, the 2004 import-only collection Best of Def Leppard is a good choice, since it expands on Vault -- it nevertheless is the best overview of the group's career yet assembled, since it has not only the hits, but the sleek, glammy pop-metal that earned them the reputation as one of the biggest and best bands of the '80s.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2005
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602498293560
catalogNumber: 000464702
Rank: 21048


Disc 1

  1. Pour Some Sugar on Me
  2. Photograph
  3. Love Bites
  4. Let's Get Rocked
  5. Two Steps Behind
  6. Animal
  7. Heaven Is
  8. Foolin'
  9. Rocket
  10. When Love & Hate Collide
  11. Armageddon It
  12. Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad
  13. Rock of Ages
  14. Hysteria
  15. Miss You in a Heartbeat
  16. Bringin' on the Heartbreak
  17. Switch 625

Disc 2

  1. Rock Rock (Till You Drop)
  2. Let It Go
  3. High 'N' Dry (Saturday Night)
  4. Too Late for Love
  5. No Matter What
  6. Promises
  7. Mirror, Mirror (Look into My Eyes)
  8. Women
  9. Another Hit and Run
  10. Slang
  11. Stand Up (Kick Love into Motion)
  12. Rock Brigade
  13. Now
  14. Paper Sun
  15. Work It Out
  16. Die Hard the Hunter
  17. Wasted
  18. Billy's Got a Gun

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Def Leppard   Primary Artist
Vivian Campbell   Guitar
Steve Clark   Guitar
Phil Collen   Guitar
Joe Elliott   Vocals
Rick Savage   Bass Guitar
Pete Willis   Guitar
Rick Allen   Drums

Technical Credits

Def Leppard   Producer
Tom (Colonel) Allom   Producer,Audio Production
Louis Austin   Engineer
Vivian Campbell   Composer
Richard Chycki   Engineer
Steve Clark   Composer
Phil Collen   Composer
Joe Elliott   Composer
Marti Frederiksen   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Nigel Green   Engineer
Pete Ham   Composer
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Dick Plant   Engineer
Rick Savage   Composer
Mike Shipley   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Pete Willis   Composer
Pete Woodroffe   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Vartan   Art Direction
Ger McDonnell   Engineer
Dave Ling   Liner Notes
Ronan McHugh   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Rick Allen   Composer

Customer Reviews