Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

by Hi Rhythm SectionHi Rhythm Section


$16.44 $17.99 Save 9% Current price is $16.44, Original price is $17.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Continuing his revived collaboration with producer Steve Jordan -- the pair first worked together on 1999's Take Your Shoes Off, then reunited on 2014's In My Soul -- Robert Cray headed to Memphis to cut his 18th studio set with members of the legendary Hi Rhythm Section. Setting up shop at Royal Studios, Cray got to work on a handful of originals and a collection of covers, not all of them strictly related to Memphis. In particular, Cray pushes swamp rocker Tony Joe White and "5" Royales leader Lowman Pauling, cutting two songs from each writer. These sit alongside a pair of tunes from Sir Mack Rice (the author of "Mustang Sally"), a version of Bill Withers' "The Same Love That Made Me Laugh," and three originals by Cray, so the album casts its net wide but unites these various styles and eras through the prism of sleek Memphis soul. Jordan evokes the smooth, soulful shimmer of Hi at its peak, but the record never seems studied or an exercise in nostalgia; there's an elegance to the grooves that seems effortless. "The Way We Are," a Cray original, simmers like Al Green but most of the album is funkier, reaching an apex with both "You Must Believe in Yourself" and the cooking "Don't Steal My Love," which happens to be graced by a cameo from its author, Tony Joe White. His appearance underscores how Robert Cray has gotten a lift from his new collaborators: supported by the Hi Rhythm Section he sounds livelier and grittier than he has in years, and that passion serves as a nice counterpoint to the smooth grooves on Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2017
Label: Jay-Vee Inc
UPC: 0020286223641
catalogNumber: 2017


  1. The Same Love That Made Me Laugh
  2. You Must Believe in Yourself
  3. I Don't Care
  4. Aspen, Colorado
  5. Just How Low
  6. You Had My Heart
  7. I'm with You, Pt. 1
  8. Honey Bad
  9. The Way We Are
  10. Don't Steal My Love
  11. I'm with You, Pt. 2

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hi Rhythm Section   Primary Artist
Robert Cray   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Tony Joe White   Electric Guitar,Harp
Jack Hale   Trombone
Charles Hodges   Organ,Piano,Background Vocals,fender rhodes
Leroy Hodges   Bass
Lester Snell   Conductor
Jim Spake   Baritone Saxophone
Harold Thomas   Vocals
Steve Jordan   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Marc Franklin   Trumpet
Lannie McMillan   Tenor Saxophone
Robert Wrightsil   Vocals
Archie "Hubby" Archer   Background Vocals,Clavinet

Technical Credits

Robert Cray   Composer
Bill Withers   Composer
Tony Joe White   Composer
Niko Bolas   Engineer
Mack Rice   Composer
Lester Snell   Arranger
Lowman Pauling   Composer
Steve Jordan   Producer
Pieter Woudt   Cover Design
Boo Mitchell   Engineer
Charles Jerue   Composer
Judd Phillips   Composer

Customer Reviews