Rise Up

Rise Up

by Cypress HillCypress Hill


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Cypress Hill's first album for Priority -- released under Snoop Dogg's tenure as the label's creative director -- is a four-years-in-the-making, against-all-odds success that earns its victory march cover art, at least for the most part. There are a couple merely good tracks -- "Pass the Dutch" being the most merely good -- that act as speed bumps on this otherwise exciting ride, which in typical Cypress Hill style, ramps up on the hater-slaying tracks and chills out on the weed numbers. Best of the former is the title track with special guest Tom Morello from Rage Against the Machine, while the best of the latter is the strain-listing "K.U.S.H." produced by B Real and Cypress-associate Sick Jacken. Somewhere in between is the slay-and-toke "Light It Up" where B-Real offers "I eat MCs up, you might wanna ease up/I squeeze on the trigger like I squeeze on a C-cup," while producer Pete Rock brings the soul with a Barry White sample. Usual producer Muggs only turns in two cuts, one being the dusty-sounding heart wrencher "Take My Pain" with Everlast on the bluesy chorus. Other genres like emo-rap ("Carry Me Away" with Mike Shinoda), crunching rock-rap ("Trouble Seeker" with Daron Malakian), and spicy Latin rap ("Armada Latina" with Pitbull, Marc Anthony, and a sweet Stephen Stills sample) are explored then conquered, and in spite of all these flavors and guest artists, the album remains Cypress', or at least B Real's, as the group's leader is more dominant than ever. At 15-songs long the album can stand tall after the required trimming, making Rise Up a giant leap in the right direction after the lukewarm Till Death Do Us Part.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2010
Label: Priority Records
UPC: 5099962648127
catalogNumber: 26481
Rank: 66218

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cypress Hill   Primary Artist
Eric Gardner   Drums
Mike Mani   Keyboards
Frank Perez   Percussion,Drums
Jay Turner   scratching
Daron Malakian   Drums
Jim Jonsin   Keyboards
Julio-G   scratching
Frank Roman   Bass
Frank Romano   Bass,Guitar

Technical Credits

Steve Stills   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
Willie Hutch   Composer
Tom Morello   Producer
Muggs   Producer
Keith Shocklee   Composer
Jim Scott   Engineer
Erik Schrody   Composer
Pete Rock   Producer
Deborah Mannis-Gardner   Sample Clearance
Jay Turner   Programming,Engineer
Ryan Williams   Engineer
Daron Malakian   Producer
M. McLaren   Composer
Mike Shinoda   Producer,Engineer
Dave Schiff   Engineer
Leota Blacknor   Marketing
Jim Jonsin   Programming,Producer
Frank Maddocks   Art Direction
DJ Khalil   Producer
Jake One   Producer,Engineer
Robert Marks   Engineer
Ghazi Hourani   Recording Assistant
J. Omley   Composer
James Minchin   Band Photo
L. Freese   Composer
J. Dutton   Composer
M. Perretta   Composer
J. Scheffer   Composer
B-Real Records   Producer,Executive Producer
A. Dudley   Composer
S. Reyes   Composer
J. Gonzalez   Composer
Alan "The Alchemist" D. Maman   Composer
Sick Jacen   Producer,Engineer
Ghazi Hdurani   Recording Assistant
Bob Semanovich   Marketing
Daniel Tannenbaum   Composer
Khalil Abdul-Rahman   Composer

Customer Reviews