Rise of an Empire [Deluxe Edition]

Rise of an Empire [Deluxe Edition]

by Young MoneyYoung Money

CD(Special Edition)

$19.30 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.3, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Following in the footsteps of 2009's set We Are Young Money, Rise of an Empire mixes Cash Money veterans with some newcomers to Birdman's hip-hop label. It's a smooth move, introducing new artists alongside Weezy and such, but here, it's an uneven and maybe even expected case of crazy-sexy-cool beating extra-anxious. When it comes to the former, there's Drake stomping over Hit-Boy's Viking-worthy beat on "Trophies," a two-headed monster of a track that pits verses-filled Southern rap victory against an emo-rap chorus ("I'm just tryin' to stay alive and take care of my people/And they ain't got no award for that"). "Senile," with Tyga, Nicki Minaj, and Lil Wayne, is a snarky, robotic keeper, plus a great example of how quirky futuristic thug music is something Cash Money excels at. Then there's Nicki on her own, channeling her vicious Roman Zolanski character on the creeping "Lookin A**," a number that combines her raw mixtape past with her star-studded present, and then adds some underground and experimental touches just to show this diva can do most anything. Wayne's solo "Moment" makes massive song number four as it starts off slurring and slow, then seems to awaken and stir itself into a Carter-worthy declaration of independence, but the young bucks only put two kicks through the highlight goalpost: "One Time" (some twerpy and weird cloud rap from Lil Twist) and "Hittin' Like" (brassy singer Shanell combining Beyoncé's power and old-school recess cool for a track that's a true jump-roper's delight). Other Freshman cuts like Euro's "Induction Speech" are bold enough and big enough for inclusion even if they can't reach the towering heights that the senior class provide. Call it a wobbly when it comes to quality, or a showcase for the young that's stolen by the old, but it's best to consider it a simple roster-promoting label compilation that just happens to come with an EP or so worth of fire. [A clean Deluxe Edition was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2014
Label: Cash Money
UPC: 0602537774289
catalogNumber: 002036702
Rank: 204477

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Young Money   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Anthony Vick   Composer
Sandy Brummels   Art Direction
Bryan Williams   Composer,Executive Producer
Robert Williams   Composer
Shanell Woodgett   Composer
Ariel Chobaz   Engineer
Big A   Producer
Speedy   Producer
PJ Morton   Composer,Producer
Cameron Wallace   Composer
Fareed Salamah   Engineer
Steve Fisher   Engineer
Brandon Jones   Engineer
Runners   Producer
Omega   Producer
Hit Boy   Producer
Detail   Producer
Mack Maine   Executive Producer
Michael Stevenson   Composer
Olympicks   Producer
Noah Shebib   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Harvey Miller   Composer
Aubrey "Drake" Graham   Composer
D. Stokes   Composer
Dwayne Carter   Composer,Executive Producer
British Murder Boys   Producer
Kalenna Harper   Composer,Vocal Producer
noel fisher   Composer
Peter Pankey   Composer
B. Parker   Composer
Jess Jackson   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Ronald "Slim Tha Don" Williams   Executive Producer
Sean Buchanan   Recording Assistant
Mario Mims   Composer
Olivia Smith   Art Direction
Edward "Jewfro" Lidow   Engineer
Keenon Jackson   Composer
Onika Maraj   Composer
D-Nyce   Producer
David Doman   Composer
David D.A. Doman   Producer
Noel Cadastre   Engineer
Cortez Bryant   Executive Producer
Lex Luger   Producer
S-X   Producer
Jarvis Mills   Composer
Sam Gumbley   Composer
Maurice Brown   Composer
Christopher Moore   Composer
Sonny Digital   Producer
Chauncey Hollis   Composer
Jermaine Preyan   Composer
Donte Blacksher   Composer
B. Wicker   Composer
Evan Stewart   Recording Assistant
Andy Rodriguez   Engineer,Recording Assistant
Hagler   Producer
Anthony Lee Norris   Composer
Lexus Lewis   Composer
Lee On the Beats   Producer
Carl Lilly   Composer
Eufradis Rodriguez   Composer
Goe   Engineer
Diome Silva   Composer
Aaron O'Brien   Composer,Producer
Chris King   Engineer
Carl Devonish   Composer
Michael Joshua   Composer
Kemion Cooks   Composer,Producer
Chelsea Dudley   Composer
Widner DeGruy   Composer

Customer Reviews