Rhythms del Mundo: Cuba

Rhythms del Mundo: Cuba

by Rhythms Del MundoRhythms Del Mundo


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Turning the covers album concept on its head, Rhythms del Mundo: Cuba doesn't set a varied group of northern artists loose on the music made famous by the Buena Vista Social Club, but instead sets the Club's members lose on the northerners' own songs. Now that's an inspired idea, and all to aid charities assisting the victims of natural disasters and raising awareness of climate change. However, to call this a covers album is a bit misleading, as most of the songs feature the original vocals, and occasionally some of the original instrumentation, but it's not a remix project either, as the Social Club add their own music to the original recordings. So, it's a grand fusion of Cuban and northern sounds. And eclectic to boot, with songs contributed by such international artists as Quincy Jones, Sting and U2, as well as the likes of Radiohead and Coldplay. But to give the set a real frisson, the Social Club also took on such younger, feted artists as Franz Ferdinand, Maroon 5, the Kaiser Chiefs, and the so hot they're actually sizzling Arctic Monkeys. Reaching back into the past, Ibrahim Ferrer and the Club also deliver up a lush cover of "As Time Goes By," Omara Portunondo joins Ferrer for an equally lavish "Casablanca," and in another (and one of her final recordings) the late singer offers up a heartrending "Killing Me Softly." These numbers give the set its timeless quality; the rest its up-to-date feel. Not every song works perfectly, Jack Johnson's vocals are a bit uncomfortable rhythmically on his version, but Coldplay's is superb, the Arctic Monkeys are absolutely lethal, U2's track is stunning, and Dido and Faithless' is sublime. The Club brings out the sweetness and glow of Maroon 5's song, give the Kaiser Chiefs a wonderful Latin kick, totally reinvent Radiohead, then give Quincy Jones a lesson in authentic Spanish music, while trotting out their own soul credentials. Of course the musicianship is flawless, the arrangements inspired, and this mix of north and south proves that the music is not just simpatico, it was surely made for creative melding.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/14/2006
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0602517095953
catalogNumber: 000789102
Rank: 69053

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rhythms Del Mundo   Primary Artist
Kenny Young   Percussion
Omara Portuondo   Vocals
Ben Brierley   Guitar
Jorge L. Chicoy   Guitar
Danny Cummings   Percussion
Antonio Garcia   Tenor Saxophone
Orlando "Cachaito" Lopez   Bass
Pablo Menendez   Guitar
Oscar Figueroa   Background Vocals
Emilio Morales   Piano
Demetrio Muniz   Trombone
Ibrahim Ferrer   Vocals
Abdel Rasalps   Vocals
Amadito Valdés   Percussion,Timbales
Tomas Ramos   Percussion,Conga
Rafael P. Pacerio Monzon   Bass
Victoriano "Filiberto" a Sanchez   Timbales
Arelis Zaldivar   Cello
Roberto Fonseca   Piano
Idania Valdes Casuso   Vocals,Background Vocals
Yaroldi Breu Robles   Conga
Emilio DelMonte   Timbales
Coco Freeman   Vocals
Roberto "Guayacán" Hernández   Vocals
Frank Rubio   Bass
Miguel DeLa Hoz   Trumpet
Aquila Rose   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jorge Boulet   Piano
Ariel Mendez   Violin
Vania Borges   Vocals,Background Vocals
Iris Avila   Background Vocals
Jorge Braund   Trumpet,Fliscorno
Casuso   Background Vocals
Angel Terri Domech   Percussion
Carlos Alvarez Guerra   Trombone
Freya Lee   Background Vocals
Alberto Hernanez Plasencia   Percussion
Liagne Reina   Background Vocals
Harold Lopez Nussa   Piano
Alberto "Virgilio" Valdés   Percussion

Technical Credits

Sting   Composer
Kenny Young   Producer,Concept,Audio Production
Edge   Composer
Bono   Composer
Adam Clayton   Composer
Dido   Composer
Charles Fox   Composer
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Chaz Jankel   Composer
Larry Mullen   Composer
Adam Levine   Composer
Colin Greenwood   Composer
Jonny Greenwood   Composer
Ed O'Brien   Composer
Phil Selway   Composer
Sister Bliss   Composer
Adey Wilson   Composer
Berman Brothers   Producer,Concept
Rollo   Composer
Maxi Jazz   Composer
Demetrio Muniz   Arranger
Thom Yorke   Composer
Barbarito Torres   Laud
Chris Martin   Composer
Jack Johnson   Composer
Will Champion   Composer
Guy Berryman   Composer
Jonny Buckland   Composer
Tim Flannery   Liner Notes
James Valentine   Composer
Laurence Brazil   Engineer
Alex Kapranos   Composer
Nick McCarthy   Composer
Simon Rix   Composer
Nick Baines   Composer
Nick Hodgson   Composer
Arctic Monkeys   Composer
Alex Turner   Composer
Miguel Alexiades   translation
Monica VonThun Calderøn   translation
Andreu Ferrer Felez Rozasul   Engineer
Herbie Girardet   Liner Notes
Gore   Liner Notes
Carlos Raul DeLaVega Guerrero   Engineer
Kenito   Arranger
Mark Lynas   Liner Notes
David Menezes   Artwork
George Monbiot   Liner Notes,Author
Felix Martinez Montero   Contributor
Ron Oehl   Direction
Victor Reina   translation
Gareth Scott   Artwork
Bob Hardy   Composer
Paul Thomson   Composer

Customer Reviews