Rhythm Sessions

Rhythm Sessions

by Lee RitenourLee Ritenour


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Lee Ritenour's Rhythm Sessions is, in a roundabout way, a companion album to 2010's Six String Theory. For that record, he sought out a slew of guitar greats to celebrate their joint love for the instrument. Here, Ritenour assembles another top-flight cast for a set of tunes that range from fusion to pop, from contemporary jazz to post-bop and more. "The Village" places the guitarist with George Duke, Stanley Clarke, drummer Dave Weckl, and percussionist Munyungo Jackson. The fusion groove is nocturnal, slippery, even bluesy. Kurt Elling joins Dave Grusin, Nathan East, and Will Kennedy for an elegant reading of Nick Drake's "River Man." Ritenour's revisioning of Herbie Hancock's "Fat Albert Rotunda" showcases just how savvy he is at adapting a jazz-funk classic for the 21st century without sacrificing its vigor. The band -- Patrice Rushen on acoustic piano with Debron Johnson on Rhodes, Marcus Miller and Melvin Lee Davis on basses, Rob Bacon on rhythm guitar, and Oscar Seaton on drums -- rock it up a bit while keeping the ensemble and rhythmic interplay fluid, yet firmly in the pocket. Ritenour surprises by including two tunes by the European piano trio E.S.T.: "800 Streets by Feet" and "Spam-Boo-Limbo." In both cases, he uses the harmonic elasticity of the originals to dig inside their hardwired, interlocking grooves. He reveals them as rife for contemporary jazz as well as post-bop. Chick Corea stars on his own shimmering "Children's Song," with Ritenour playing classical guitar augmented by drummer Peter Erskine and Chuck Bergdorfer on bass. This set is not all cover tunes, however; Ritenour contributes three fine compositions -- "July" (a breezy little funk tune with excellent bass work by Melvin Davis), "Rose Pedals" (a crossover classical jazz piece), and "Dolphins Don't Dance" (a limber, Latin-tinged modern jazz tune with Larry Goldings on B-3). The set closer is a reading of Grusin's elegant, R&B-flavored "Punta del Soul," featuring the three young winners of his Six String Theory Guitar & Rhythm Section Competition. Rhythm Sessions underscores Ritenour's ability to place himself in any jazz ensemble -- he's almost chameleon-like -- without sacrificing his unique voice or ability as a soloist. This utterly unique recording in the contemporary jazz genre is a fine showcase for his skills as a bandleader.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072337091
catalogNumber: 33709
Rank: 58242

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lee Ritenour   Primary Artist,Guitar,Classical Guitar
Patrice Rushen   Piano
George Duke   Moog Synthesizer,fender rhodes
Peter Erskine   Drums
Larry Goldings   bass pedals,Hammond B3
John Beasley   Piano
Chuck Berghofer   Acoustic Bass
Stanley Clarke   Acoustic Bass
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Armando Anthony Corea   Piano
Dave Grusin   Piano,fender rhodes
Nathan East   Bass
Sonny Emory   Drums
Munyungo Jackson   Percussion
Deron Johnson   fender rhodes
Christian McBride   Acoustic Bass
Marcus Miller   Electric Bass
Alan Pasqua   Piano
Dave Weckl   Drums
Kurt Elling   Vocals
Will Kennedy   Drums
Oscar Seaton   Drums
Melvin Lee Davis   Bass
Tal Wilkenfeld   Bass,Bass Guitar
Demetrius Nabors   Piano
Ariel Mann   Synthesizer,Guitar,Keyboards
Rob Bacon   Rhythm Guitar
Michael Feinberg   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Zamajobe   Vocals
Wesley Ritenour   Drums
Selim Munir   Drums
Hans De Wild   Hammond B3
R.J. Benjamin   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Nick Drake   Composer
Herbie Hancock   Composer
John Burk   Executive Producer
Armando Anthony Corea   Composer
Dave Grusin   Arranger,Composer
Don Murray   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Jack Perry   Videography
Lee Ritenour   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes,Pro-Tools
Mark Wexler   Executive Producer
Paul Fried   Composer
Magnus Öström   Composer
Benjamin Einziger   Composer
George Purviance   Composer
Stephanie Eitel   Composer
Dan Berglund   Composer
Ashley Stagg   Videography
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Melvin Lee Davis   Pro-Tools
Demetrius Nabors   Arranger
Ariel Mann   Arranger,Programming,Engineer,Pro-Tools
Julie Porter   Videography
Mathieu Zazzo   Photo Courtesy
Chris Allen   Engineer
Matt Robertson   Videography
Esbörn Svensson   Composer
Arthur Schaer   Pro-Tools
Johnathan Fernandez   Videography
Mark Scoggins   Videography
R.J. Benjamin   Engineer

Customer Reviews