Rhinestone Cowboy [Bonus Tracks]

Rhinestone Cowboy [Bonus Tracks]

by Glen CampbellGlen Campbell


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Early on in Rhinestone Cowboy, Glen Campbell sings that he's making his "comeback," a sentiment that can't help but seem to carry an autobiographical heft. While it is true that he was hardly off the charts in the early '70s, the quality of his music was a little inconsistent; the singles were often good, but his albums were burdened with schlock and erratic in quality. He started to break free with a pair of 1974 albums, Houston (I'm Comin' to See You) and the Jimmy Webb tribute Reunion, but it wasn't until 1975's Rhinestone Cowboy that he seemed in full control of his talent, delivering a record that stands proudly next to his '60s peaks. Much credit is due to the presence of producers Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter, who help focus Campbell through their own tunes, their expert selection of songs, and their shimmering, high-gloss production that dazzles on the surface but also delivers considerable thematic and musical substance. Throughout the record, there are allusions to Campbell being a country boy stranded in the big city, where he's successful but emotionally adrift. This is most evident on the album's two big hits, "Country Boy (You Got Your Feet in L.A.)" and "Rhinestone Cowboy" itself, but his yearning is underpinned by sad songs like "I'd Build a Bridge," the despairing "We're Over," and a heartbreaking version of Randy Newman's "Marie." Among this, a cheerful cover of the Temptations' "My Girl" seems a little out of place, but this is the only outright misstep in an otherwise masterful album that manages to sound soothing even when it's sad. Even with its undercurrents of melancholy, Rhinestone Cowboy sounds and feels like a triumph because of the assured, layered lushness of the Lambert/Potter production and Campbell's fine performances. He sounds engaged by the material, bringing out nuances within the songs, and it's positively a joy to hear after several years of wandering. [Capitol/Universal's 40th Anniversary 2015 reissue of the album is remastered and contains fine new liner notes from Brian Mansfield, along with five bonus tracks. The first of these is "Record Collector's Dream," a tremendous ode to B-sides original released as the flip to "Country Boy (You Got Your Feet In L.A.);" it's the greatest song Nick Lowe never wrote. "Coming Home," a nice piece of extravagant studio pop with a stronger production than melody, appeared as a single in Japan in 1975, while an understated version of Danny O'Keefe's "Quits" sees its first release here. Then, there are remixes of the hits "Country Boy" and "Rhinestone Cowboy," both taken from the Glen Campbell Greatest Hits album from 2009; they're fine, but the original mixes on the album are superior.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2015
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547201638
catalogNumber: 002270002
Rank: 88590

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Glen Campbell   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar
Don Menza   Horn
Jerome Richardson   Horn
Tom Scott   Horn
Ben Benay   Electric Guitar
Ginger Blake   Background Vocals
George Bohannon   Horn
Boogie Symphony   Strings
Gary Coleman   Percussion
Scott Edwards   Bass
Chuck Findley   Horn
Jules "Stix" Greenberg   Percussion
Ed Greene   Drums
Paul Hubinon   Horn
David Kemper   Drums
Dennis Lambert   Percussion,Keyboards
Lew McCreary   Horn
Michael Omartian   Keyboards
Dean Parks   Electric Guitar
Brian Potter   Percussion
Tom Sellers   Conductor
Sid Sharp   Strings
Dalton Smith   Horn
Fred Tackett   Acoustic Guitar
Julia Tillman   Background Vocals
Maxine Willard   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Randy Newman   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Larry Weiss   Composer
Dennis McCarthy   Arranger
Johnny Cunningham   Composer
Dennis Lambert   Composer,Producer
Danny O'Keefe   Composer
Brian Potter   Composer,Producer
Tom Sellers   Arranger
Mike Settle   Composer
Joe Sidore   Engineer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Tom Bejgrowicz   Reissue Design
Roy Kohara   Art Direction
Brian Mansfield   Liner Notes
Billy Davis   Composer,Producer
Bill C. Graham   Composer
Matt D'amico   Reissue Producer
Michael Murphy   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews