by Rascal FlattsRascal Flatts


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.


The title Rewind suggests Rascal Flatts are ready to turn back the clock, perhaps to the start of their career or something even earlier, but the first song on this 2014 album drops an allusion to Instagram, so the trio is hardly unaware of the digital age. Throughout Rewind, Rascal Flatts reference other wonders of the modern age while also taking pains to position themselves as part of a lineage -- the title track casually mentions George Strait as a common thread between alienated lovers -- but there's never any indication that this Ohio band considers the past as more worthy than the present. This embrace of the now is one of the hallmarks of Rascal Flatts, a group that thoroughly inhabits the new suburban country, a country that resides not in the sticks but on the outskirts of a major urban center, the place where big box stores stretch as far as the eye can see. To that end, the trio brings in Howard Benson -- a producer better known for active rockers like 3 Doors Down, Saliva, Hoobastank, and DAUGHTRY who has also often worked with Kelly Clarkson -- to give Rewind a stainless gleam suited for the suburbs and this makes Rewind far livelier than any of its immediate predecessors, which by and large favored the softer, slower side of the trio. Certainly, that sweetness is evident on Rewind -- not so coincidentally, it surfaces strongly on the title track and the syrupy "I Have Never Been to Memphis" -- but the record thrives on its brighter moments, the times where it adopts either the sound or sentiment of "DJ Tonight," "Powerful Stuff," and "I Like the Sound of That," songs that consciously weave modern catch phrases into friendly, hooky songs designed to be heard everywhere a radio could be played. Occasionally, there are hints that Rascal Flatts are getting a little bit old to be pandering for big hits -- Gary LeVox does not easily drop references to phone apps -- but when the music is as carefully constructed as "I'm on Fire," a song that expertly fuses their arena-rock stomp and their waiting-room sentimentality, it's hard not to succumb to Rascal Flatts' smooth touch.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2014
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0843930011919
catalogNumber: 0300


  1. Payback
  2. Rewind
  3. I Have Never Been To Memphis
  4. DJ Tonight
  5. Powerful Stuff
  6. Riot
  7. Night Of Our Lives
  8. I Like The Sound Of That
  9. Aftermath
  10. I'm on Fire
  11. Life's a Song
  12. Honeysuckle Lazy
  13. The Mechanic

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rascal Flatts   Primary Artist
Eric Darken   Percussion
Howard Benson   Keyboards,Background Vocals
David Campbell   Conductor
John Catchings   Cello
Dan Dugmore   Steel Guitar
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Josh Freese   Drums
Roland Kato   Viola
Gordon Mote   Piano
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Kim Keyes   Background Vocals
Suzie Katayama   Cello
Tim Akers   Piano,Keyboards
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Jay DeMarcus   Bass,Mandolin,Background Vocals
Rudy Stein   Cello
Dorian Crozier   Drums
Julian Hallmark   Violin
Joe Don Rooney   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Rob McNelley   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Songa Lee   Violin
Steve Richards   Cello
Drea Rhenee   Background Vocals
Michele Richards   Violin
James Matchack   Synthesizer
Kris Crunk   Synthesizer
Nina Evthuhov   Violin
Erika Duke-Kirkpatrick   Cello
Mario de León   Violin
Matthew Funes   Viola
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Grace E. Oh   Violin
Jeneé Fleenor   Fiddle,Violin,Viola
Charlie Judge   Synthesizer,Accordion,Keyboards,Hammond B3
Gail Mayes   Background Vocals
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Kevin Connolly   Violin
Gary Levoc   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Howard Benson   Programming,Producer
David Campbell   String Arrangements
Dann Huff   Producer
Marcus Hummon   Composer
Mike Plotnikoff   Engineer
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Suzie Katayama   String Contractor
Don Koch   Programming
Tony Lane   Composer
Jeffrey Steele   Composer
Jay DeMarcus   Programming,Producer
James Slater   Composer
Torne White   Graphic Design
Michael Dulaney   Composer
Jimmy Yeary   Composer
Neil Mason   Composer
Shane Minor   Composer
Gregg Wattenberg   Composer
Rascal Flatts   Producer
Nathan Zwald   Engineer
Marc VanGool   Guitar Techician
Chris DeStefano   Composer
Sean Neff   Engineer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Sean McConnell   Composer
Jon Nicholson   Drum Technician
James Matchack   Programming
Ashley Gorley   Composer
John Murphy   Art Direction
Derek Fuhrmann   Composer
Sara Haze   Composer
Kris Crunk   Programming
Jesse Frasure   Composer
Johan Fransson   Composer
Tobias Lundgren   Composer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Tim Larsson   Composer
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Megan Conner   Composer
Aaron Eshuis   Composer
Eric Paslay   Composer
Brian White   Composer
Eric Holljes   Composer
Shay Mooney   Composer
Ben Caver   Composer
Jaron Boyer   Composer
Brandon Hood   Composer
Lenny Skolnik   Programming
Hatsukazu Inagaki   Engineer,overdub engineer
Meghan Trainor   Composer
Ian Hölljes   Composer
Ryan Hurd   Composer

Customer Reviews