Revisited & Remixed 1970-1999

Revisited & Remixed 1970-1999

by Popol VuhPopol Vuh


$27.34 $27.99 Save 2% Current price is $27.34, Original price is $27.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Popol Vuh were one of the first Krautrock bands to turn their focus -- thanks to their late founder, lone constant member, and musical director, Florian Fricke -- to ambient music (a full half-decade before Eno called it that) and ethnic fusions of various sorts. They released almost two dozen albums, scored a handful of films by Werner Herzog -- including Nosferatu and Aguirre, Wrath of God -- and continually experimented with form, tone, context, and format. A decade after Fricke's death, the German SPV imprint celebrates his legacy with this double-disc set. The first features a smattering of Popol Vuh tunes from throughout their tenure. It makes for compelling listening despite an apparent paradox: Fricke and company conceived of recordings as albums (as well as scores), so hearing tracks placed outside that context would -- theoretically at least -- be an erratic listening exercise. It's not. In fact, it's sequenced beautifully. The second disc pays tribute to Popol Vuh via a set of remixes by a wide assortment of producers and DJs. These include Peter Kruder's slow, ambient dub re-creation of "Aguirre I/II [Lacrima Di Rei Edit]" and Moritz von Oswald's reworking of "Gärten Pharaos [Dark Development Edit]" from the same soundtrack. Oswald's version features throbbing percussion in the lower registers with genuinely subtle vocal effects and a high-pitched synth jabbing in and out of the mix seemingly at random. Elsewhere, Stereolab remix "Hosianna Mantra," keeping the chorus and original instrumentation before injecting a guitar that eventually takes the proceedings over. Other participants include Mouse on Mars, A Critical Mass, Thomas Fehlmann, Haswell & Hecker, Miko Vainio, Alex Barck, and Roland Appel. Usually, remix projects like this one are very mixed bags in terms of quality. That said, perhaps due to the open-ended nature of Fricke's and Popol Vuh's source material, this set is very consistent. The collection also includes liner notes by Fricke contemporary and friend Klaus Schulze.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2019
Label: Imports
UPC: 0693723704425
catalogNumber: 3704425
Rank: 107692

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Popol Vuh   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Popol Vuh   Sound Design
Klaus Schulze   Liner Notes
Orb   Remixing
Dixon   Remixing
Tim Gane   Remixing
Thomas Fehlmann   Remixing
Pan Sonic   Remixing
Mika Vainio   Remixing
Frank Wiedemann   Remixing
Peter Kruder   Remixing
Moritz von Oswald   Remixing
Russell Haswell   Remixing
Jan St. Werner   Remixing
Jan Krause   Producer
Roland Appel   Producer,Remixing
Âme   Remixing
Florian Hecker   Remixing
Steffen "Dixon" Berkhahn   Remixing
Gero Herrde   Producer
Götz Michael Rieth   Producer,Remixing
Henrik Schwartz   Remixing
Frank Fiedler   Producer,Sound Design
Kruder   Remixing
Andi Thoma   Remixing
Dorfmeister   Remixing
Manuel Schönfeld   Producer
Kristian Rädle   Remixing
Johannes Fricke   Producer,Remixing
International Double Standards   Producer
Frank Uhle   Producer
Chris Rehberger   Producer,Artwork
Cerith Wyn Evans   Artwork
André Herrmann   Producer
Alex Barck   Remixing

Customer Reviews