Reggae Gold 2012

Reggae Gold 2012




The cover art references the 2012 Summer Olympics -- along with Jamaica's massive contribution, Usain Bolt -- but Reggae Gold 2012 is also a celebration of a milestone, marking the of 20th edition of VP's annual review of the best in reggae and dancehall with its two-decade spanning bonus disc. The first disc of the set runs through the recent hits, and there's plenty of quality to be had. Popcaan's "Only Man She Want" is a supremely bright earworm, Konshens "Gal a Bubble" combines blippy ragga with a '70s-inspired, funky keyboard workout, while Christopher Martin turns out to be a brash crooner during the great "Cheater's Prayer," begging "Oh Lord don't let me cheat on my girlfriend," and if that can't happen, "don't let me get caught." Nice how the set chose the extended dub mix of Busy Signal's "Come Over (Missing You)" which sounds thick and almost organic, which leads to Etana and Iba Mahr both representing the fine state of roots reggae in 2012 as Beres Hammond offers the grown folks a full-bodied, reggae affirmation with "Keeping It Real." The second disc is a ridiculously good catch-up lesson, packed with important numbers, from Wayne Wonder's so smooth "No Letting Go" to the furious and raw "Benz and Bimma" from Bounty Killer. It's such a wide and wonderful selection that the rocky flow of the disc is forgiven -- think "sampler" rather than "set" -- but those who get hung up on censoring should know the version of Gyptian's "Hold You" is the edited, radio-friendly mix, even if Lady Saw and Beenie Man get to drop an f-bomb during their very sexual "Healing."

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2012
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645195928
catalogNumber: 959

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Danny Browne   Producer
Lloyd Campbell   Producer
Dean Fraser   Producer
Donovan Germain   Producer
Willie Lindo   Producer
Patrick Roberts   Producer
Steely   Producer
C. Taylor   Composer
Paul Jazzwad Yebuah   Composer
Steven "Lenky" Marsden   Producer
Shocking Vibes Crew   Producer
D. Brown   Composer
Damian "Junior Gong" Marley   Composer
Bobby "Digital" Dixon   Producer
Jason Sterling   Producer
Garfield Spencer   Producer
Benny Blanco   Producer
A. Thomas   Composer
Rexton Gordon   Composer
Roland McDermott   Producer
Rodney Price   Composer
C. Smith   Composer
M. Miller   Composer
S. Brown   Composer
Andre "Suku" Gray   Producer
Chris Chin   Executive Producer
Michelle Campbell   Producer
Donovan "Vendetta" Bennett   Producer
Dwayne Taylor   Composer
Rohan "Snowcone" Fuller   Producer
Pionear   Producer
Dwayne "Supa Dups" Chin Quee   Producer
Patrick Henry   Producer
C.S. Dodd   Composer
Jermaine Edwards   Producer
Imran Passard   Executive Producer
Shellback   Composer,Producer
Stanley "Rellee" Hayden   Producer
Linton "T.J" White   Producer
Wayne "Unga" Thompson   Producer
J. Bugnon   Composer
D. Brooks   Composer
H. Lawes   Composer
X. Davidson   Composer
V. Morgan   Composer
V.W. Charles   Composer
N. Morgan   Composer
U. Morgan   Composer
B. Levin   Composer
K. Bennett   Composer
O. Riley   Composer
H. Hammond   Composer
G. Spence   Composer
S. Henriques   Composer
C. Birch   Composer
R. McDermott   Composer
I. Williams   Composer
W. Morris   Composer
M. Morgan   Composer
D. Bennett   Composer
C. Browne   Composer
A. McCalla   Composer
C. Martin   Composer
P. James   Composer
R. Morgan   Composer
R. Clarke   Composer
V. Stephenson   Composer
S. McKenzie   Composer
W. Edwards   Composer
E. Mitchell   Composer
Shaun "DJ Chrome" Chablal   Producer
Shane C. Brown   Producer
Windell Edwards   Producer
Mark Collinder   Producer
Paul "Cash Flow" Mitchell   Producer
Justus Arison   Producer
Kunley Maccarthy   Producer
Kingsley Daley   Producer
Elvis Redwood   Producer
Aiden Jones   Producer
Orlando Francis   Composer

Customer Reviews