Reflections: Carly Simon's Greatest Hits

Reflections: Carly Simon's Greatest Hits

by Carly SimonCarly Simon


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In 1995, Arista released the first multi-label Carly Simon retrospective, the triple-disc box set Clouds in My Coffee, and seven years later, Rhino delivered the second, the double-disc Anthology. Two years after that, Arista finally delivered the first single-disc multi-label retrospective, Reflections: Carly Simon's Greatest Hits. Spanning nearly 30 years and featuring 20 songs, the collection has all of the big hits, from such '70s standards as "That's the Way I've Always Heard It Should Be," "Anticipation," "The Right Thing to Do," "You're So Vain," "Haven't Got Time for the Pain," and "Nobody Does it Better" to the late-'80s comeback hit "Let the River Run." Certainly, there are some listeners who are looking for a concise career-spanning disc, and for them, this suits the bill very well. The problem is, Simon's late-'80s and '90s work isn't as strong as her '70s recordings, and it accounts for half of this disc; Anthology had a similar situation, with the classic period ending at the conclusion of the first disc, but that division worked better, since it left the listener with one solid disc of '70s material. Here, the two eras are contained on one disc, so the dip in quality is more noticeable, which may make this of less interest to those who only want Simon's best work. Even so, Reflections does what it sets out to do quite well, providing a single-disc overview of Simon's entire career, both for better and worse.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/04/2004
Label: Arista
UPC: 0828765942928
catalogNumber: 59429
Rank: 4640

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carly Simon   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Human Whistle
Marc Cohn   Background Vocals
Dr. John   Organ,Piano
Roberta Flack   Background Vocals
Robbie Robertson   Electric Guitar
James Taylor   Background Vocals
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Don Grolnick   Piano
Rob Mounsey   Piano,Conductor,keyboard bass
David Sanborn   Alto Saxophone
Jay Berliner   spanish guitar
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
Jimmy Maelen   Percussion
Alex Taylor   Background Vocals
Vaneese Thomas   Background Vocals
Jim Keltner   Drums
Andy Goldmark   Keyboards
Laurence Juber   Electric Guitar
Jim Gordon   Drums
Gordon Grody   Background Vocals
Tasha Thomas   Background Vocals
Gail Boggs   Background Vocals
Jimmy Bralower   Percussion
Vicki Brown   Background Vocals
Paul Buckmaster   Conductor
Peter Calo   Acoustic Guitar
Vivian Cherry   Background Vocals
Kasey Cisyk   Background Vocals
Ray Cooper   Conga
Mickey Curry   Drums
Barry DeSouza   Drums
Cornell Dupree   Electric Guitar
Gordon Edwards   Bass
Mike Egan   Acoustic Guitar
Steve Gadd   Drums
Eric Gale   Electric Guitar
Paul Glanz   Piano
Teese Gohl   Synthesizer,Piano,Conductor,Keyboards
Paul Griffin   Piano
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Jamey Haddad   Percussion
Carl Hall   Background Vocals
Pete Hewlett   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Richard Hewson   Conductor
Terri Homberg   Background Vocals
Gregory Jones   Bass
Mindy Jostyn   Violin
Bobby Keys   Baritone Saxophone
Robbie Kilgore   Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass
Stuart Kimball   Guitar
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Will Lee   Bass,Background Vocals
Tony Levin   Bass
Bruce Lynch   Bass
Arif Mardin   Conductor
Rick Marotta   Drums
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Charles McCracken   Cello
John McCurry   Acoustic Guitar
Sid McGinnis   Background Vocals,Slide Guitar
Andy Newmark   Percussion,Conga,Drums
Brian Odgers   Bass
Pino Palladino   Bass
Bill Payne   Keyboards
Richard Perry   Percussion
Chris Rae   Electric Guitar
Paul Samwell-Smith   Background Vocals
Frank Simms   Background Vocals
Lucy Simon   Background Vocals
Liza Strike   Background Vocals
Hugh Taylor   Background Vocals
Sally Taylor   Vocals
Richard Tee   Electric Piano
Peter-John Vettese   Keyboards
Klaus Voormann   Bass
Don Was   Bass
Kurt Yahjian   Background Vocals
Jimmy Johnson   Drums
Robin Gould   Drums
Dirk Ziff   Guitar
Frank Floyd   Background Vocals
Jim Parr   Synthesizer Drums
Jimmy Ryan   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Bass,Electric Guitar,Ukulele,Background Vocals
Mick Rossi   Piano

Technical Credits

Victor Herbert   Composer
Michael McDonald   Composer
Carly Simon   Composer,Programming,Producer,String Arrangements,drum programming,Whistle
Rob Mounsey   Producer,String Arrangements
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Andy Goldmark   Composer,drum programming
Marvin Hamlisch   Composer
Chris Lord-Alge   Engineer
Mark Berry   Engineer
Mike Bobak   Engineer
John Boylan   Producer
Jimmy Bralower   drum programming
Paul Buckmaster   Orchestration,String Arrangements,Woodwind Arrangement
Robin Geoffrey Cable   Engineer
Clive Davis   Executive Producer
Frank Filipetti   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Inez Foxx   Composer
Charlie Foxx   Composer
Inez & Charlie Foxx   Composer
Ed Freeman   String Arrangements
Teese Gohl   String Arrangements,Orchestral Arrangements
Lewis Hahn   Engineer
Richard Hewson   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Eddie Kramer   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Russ Kunkel   Producer,drum programming
Chris Lannon   Engineer
Tim Leitner   Engineer
Scott Litt   Engineer
Mike Mainieri   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Arif Mardin   Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Audio Production
Harry Maslin   Engineer
George Massenburg   Producer
Gerard McMahon   Composer
Bill Miranda   Engineer
Del Newman   String Arrangements
Bill Payne   Producer
Richard Perry   Producer,Audio Production
Paul Samwell-Smith   Producer,Audio Production
Bill Schnee   Engineer
Sally Taylor   Composer
Bobby Warner   Engineer
Don Was   Producer,Engineer
Stephen Allen Davis   Liner Notes
Erwin Gorostiza   Art Direction
Bob Gothard   Cover Photo
Jay Militscher   Engineer
Jacob Brackman   Composer
Joseph DiMuro   Executive Producer
Jim Parr   Engineer
Eddie Palmer   Engineer
Gary Chester   Engineer
James P. Nichols   Engineer

Customer Reviews