by Martina McBrideMartina McBride


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12


Reckless isn't exactly an accurate title for Martina McBride's first album for Nash Icon, the classy home for old Nashville pros constructed by Big Machine's Scott Borchetta. As McBride's first full-fledged country album since 2011's Eleven, Reckless proceeds carefully, conscious of the constraints of commercial country radio and her role as a veteran. All through the album there are slight, subtle hints of the modern world -- a passing lyrical reference tempered by crisp digital production or sequenced rhythms -- but its sensibilities belong to the mainstream country of the '90s, a place where country co-habitated with arena rock and adult contemporary. The latter carries a prominent role on Reckless, for this album -- co-produced by Dann Huff and Nathan Chapman -- is quite consciously an adult effort, a record that embraces maturation in its melody and sensibilities. Sometimes, this does mean that the album winds up getting a little mellow, drifting down supple back ways where the only intent appears to a pleasant placidity, but this softness is salvaged by how the music breathes: for as smooth as the surface is, there is a palpable human heart beating underneath the gloss. Reckless winds up feeling of a piece, a record where the individual songs don't matter as much -- they'd stand out on the radio but feel interconnected here -- as the mood itself. It's an album that showcases a Martina McBride who is embracing her middle age, who finds sustenance in her musical roots but resists succumbing to easy nostalgia. It's warm, classy, and relaxed, music designed to comfort and sustain.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2016
Label: Nash Icon
UPC: 0843930022540
catalogNumber: 200
Rank: 160892


  1. Reckless
  2. It Ain’t Pretty
  3. Just Around the Corner
  4. Everybody Wants to Be Loved
  5. The Real Thing
  6. That’s the Thing About Love
  7. Low All Afternoon
  8. Diamond
  9. We’ll Pick Up Where We Left Off
  10. You And You Alone

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Martina McBride   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
David Angell   Violin
Matt Chamberlain   Percussion,Drums
David Davidson   Violin
Dan Dugmore   Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Shannon Forrest   Percussion,Drums
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Dann Huff   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Sitar
Buddy Miller   Background Vocals
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Mike Rojas   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Accordion,Hammond Organ,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Kristin Wilkinson   Viola
Jonathan Yudkin   Cello
Carole Neuen-Rabinowitz   Cello
Keith Urban   Background Vocals
Jim Medlin   Piano
Carolyn Dawn Johnson   Background Vocals
Sarah Buxton   Background Vocals
Nathan Chapman   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Mandolin,Background Vocals,Synthesizer Pads
Stephanie Chapman   Background Vocals
Nick Buda   Percussion,Drums
Danny Rader   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin
Charlie Judge   Synthesizer,Strings,French Horn,Synthesizer Pads
Cherie Oakley   Background Vocals
Jason Sever   Background Vocals
Ernesto Olivera   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Martina McBride   Producer
Dann Huff   Producer
Daniel Tashian   Composer
Kristin Wilkinson   String Arrangements
Karinne Caulkins   Graphic Design
Gordie Sampson   Composer
Steve McEwan   Composer
Blair Daly   Composer
Allen Ditto   Engineer
Marc Roberge   Composer
John McBride   Engineer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
Cary Barlowe   Composer
Troy Verges   Composer
Sarah Buxton   Composer
Adam Wright   Composer
Becky Reiser   Art Direction
Nathan Chapman   Composer,Programming,Producer
Liz Rose   Composer
Heather Morgan   Composer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Abe Stoklasa   Composer
Charlie Judge   Programming
Eric Paslay   Composer
Sophie Walker   Composer
Zach Crowell   Composer
Hailey Whitters   Composer
Nicolle Galyon   Composer
Ernesto Olivera   Engineer
Adam Chagnon   Engineer
Ivy Walker   Composer
Sam Eliis   Composer

Customer Reviews