Rebel Rock

Rebel Rock

by Third World All Stars


$13.76 $15.99 Save 14% Current price is $13.76, Original price is $15.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
1 New & Used Starting at $13.81


Put to tape in the mid-'70s, the instrumental renderings on Rebel Rock are largely re-imagined versions of tracks originally appearing with vocals and different arrangements of Errol Dunkley's Sit and Cry Over You. Both albums were recorded under the supervision of producer and arranger Count Shelley while conducting the Third World All Stars, an assemblage of Jamaican musicians visiting Shelly's London studio, as well as some of the top U.K. session players available. Unlike a run-of-the-mill dub album, the instrumentals here are augmented with additional horn and synthesizer overdubs, adding a relaxed, meandering lyricism to the already warm-hearted sounds. The additional brass touches also lend different perspectives to the songs, giving some more of a ska feel and others a jazzier bent. The sinister skank and devilish horn section melody of "Repatriation Remedy" have an almost Ethiopian funk-styled groove, while "Patricia's Love" has a far sunnier ska tinge to it. Futuristic synthesizer parts add richness to "For All Ways," which flirts with more disco-inclined production. Album-closer "Moog in Blues" also gets further out with an almost Hawaiian-sounding lead guitar, slathered in delay and reverb. The set manages to be eclectic and adventurous without being too bombastic or losing any of its subtleties, and captures a bright moment in the meeting of the minds between Jamaican and British reggae heads of the '70s.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2013
Label: Pressure Sounds
UPC: 0610696100955
catalogNumber: 78
Rank: 170731

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Third World All Stars   Primary Artist
Dennis Bovell   Interviewee
Gladstone Anderson   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Ronnie Bop   Guitar,Group Member
Hux Brown   Guitar,Group Member
Tyrone Downie   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Winston Grennan   Drums,Group Member
Bunny Lee   Interviewee
Lester Sterling   Trumpet,Saxophone,Group Member
Winston Wright   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Michael "Bami" Rose   Saxophone,Group Member
Buggis Norman   Alto Saxophone,Group Member
Jackie Jackson   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Steve Barker   Liner Notes
Syd Bucknor   Engineer
John Sims   Artwork
Count Shelly   Producer
Tyrone Whyte   Cover Illustration

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews