Reality Bites: 10th Anniversary Edition

Reality Bites: 10th Anniversary Edition

CD(Bonus Tracks)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 16


While it may not be the "generational touchstone" that its back cover claims it to be, the soundtrack to Reality Bites does indeed reflect the peak of mainstream pop culture's interest in the trappings of Generation X. The turning point for alternative pop
ock came in 1994: the popularity of the previously underground artists the movement put into the mainstream had reached such a height that it had nowhere to go but down, and the less challenging acts the major labels signed in response to the initial success of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Smashing Pumpkins began to dilute the overall sound of alternative rock. Ten years on, with "classic alternative rock" radio stations reflecting the nostalgia of the now thirty-something Gen Xers for the music of their college years, Reality Bites: 10th Anniversary Edition arrives. To the soundtrack's credit, its track listing holds up fairly well after a decade; even though it doesn't include too many songs by Nirvana-level bands (U2, whose "All I Want Is You" is included here, had already had plenty of success by the time the Generation X phenomenon rolled around), it's also refreshingly free of the pseudo-alternative rock bands that populated soundtracks in the mid-'90s. Along with the soundtrack's hits "Stay," which launched the career of Lisa Loeb, and Big Mountain's cover of "Baby, I Love Your Way," it features more than its fair share of solid to strong tracks, including World Party's "Young Americans" rewrite "When You Come Back to Me," the Posies' "Going, Going, Gone," Crowded House's "Locked Out," and Dinosaur Jr.'s "Turnip Farm." On the other hand, the album's lowlights, such as Squeeze's ill-advised "Tempted (94)" and the Indians' nondescript "Bed of Roses," seem that much worse for wear. Reality Bites: 10th Anniversary Edition also includes six bonus tracks, including some of the other songs that appeared in the movie, such as New Order's "Confusion," Ethan Hawke's "Add It Up," and Arrested Development's "Give a Man a Fish." A demo version of "Stay" and a new single, "Fools Like Me," underscore just how much of Loeb's career originated with this soundtrack. It's questionable just how necessary Reality Bites: 10th Anniversary Edition actually is; the soundtrack is still better than average (though not as definitive as the Singles soundtrack), but it hasn't really grown richer as the years have passed.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766061420
catalogNumber: 60614
Rank: 52498


  1. My Sharona
  2. Spin the Bottle
  3. Bed of Roses
  4. When You Come Back to Me
  5. Going, Going, Gone
  6. Stay (I Missed You)
  7. All I Want Is You
  8. Locked Out
  9. Spinning Around Over You
  10. I'm Nuthin'
  11. Turnip Farm
  12. Revival!
  13. Tempted '94
  14. Baby, I Love Your Way
  15. Stay (I Missed You)
  16. Add It Up
  17. Confusion
  18. Disco Inferno
  19. Give a Man a Fish
  20. Fools Like Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Carrack   Percussion
Elvis Costello   Guitar,Background Vocals
Lenny Kravitz   Drums,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Warren Hill   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Juliana Hatfield   Guitar,Vocals
Me Phi Me   Rap,Juice Harp
Edge   Guitar
Lisa Loeb   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Jon Auer   Guitar,Vocals
Berton Averre   Guitar,Vocals
John Bentley   Bass,Background Vocals
Curt Bisquera   Drums
Bono   Vocals
Tony Chin   Guitar
Julie Christensen   Background Vocals
Simon Clarke   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Adam Clayton   Bass
Chris Difford   Guitar,Vocals
Ron Fair   Guitar,Keyboards
John Michael Falasz   12-string Guitar,Crowd Noise
Denny Fongheiser   Percussion
Kurt Fedora   Bass,Guitar
Doug Fieger   Guitar,Vocals
Neil Finn   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Steve Foreman   Percussion
David Fox   Bass
Bruce Gary   Drums
John Goux   Acoustic Guitar
Mark Hart   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Paul Hester   Drums,Background Vocals
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Henry Hirsch   Bass
Peter Holsapple   Keyboards
Jack Irons   Drums
Abraham Laboriel   Bass,Drums
Gilson Lavis   Drums
J Mascis   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Larry Mullen   Drums
Mike Musburger   Drums
Prescott Niles   Bass
Tessa Niles   Background Vocals
Shelly Peiken   Vocal Harmony
Quino   Vocals,Background Vocals
Craig Ross   Electric Guitar
Nick Seymour   Bass,Background Vocals
Chris Sharrock   Drums
Ken Stringfellow   Guitar,Background Vocals
Chris Cuben Tatum   Bass,Drums,Hammond Organ,Background Vocals,Roland TR-808,Crowd Noise
Glenn Tilbrook   Guitar,Vocals
Karl Wallinger   Bass,Drums,Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Vocals
Aaron Zigman   Keyboards
Dan Littleton   Electric Guitar
Juan Patino   Vocal Harmony
Nathan Aibinder   Guitar
Angie Bianca   Vocals
Blizz   Turntables
Michael Bohannon   Background Vocals,Crowd Noise
Tim Bright   Electric Guitar
Dean Fisher   Bass
Ethan Hawke   Vocals
James McWhinney   Background Vocals
Elizabeth Mitchell   Vocal Harmony
Rags Murtaugh   Harmonica
Joe Quigley   Bass
Christopher Wagner   Bass
Zeb   Guitar
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
John Shanks   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocal Harmony
John "4 Daddman" Robinson   Drums
Chris "Poet" Wilson   Bass
Jonathan Feinberg   Percussion,Drums
Larry E. Williams   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Todd Philips   Drums

Technical Credits

Arrested Development   Composer
David Baerwald   Composer
Arthur Baker   Composer
Elvis Costello   Producer
Peter Frampton   Composer
Lenny Kravitz   Composer,Producer
Jeff Lynne   Composer
Posies   Producer
Minnie Riperton   Composer
Youth   Producer
Juliana Hatfield   Composer
Me Phi Me   Composer
Edge   Composer
Lisa Loeb   Composer
John Agnello   Engineer
Jon Auer   Composer
Berton Averre   Composer
Roger Bechirian   Producer
Michael Beinhorn   Producer,Engineer
David Bianco   Producer,Engineer
Bono   Composer
Bryan Carlstrom   Engineer
Adam Clayton   Composer
Peter Coleman   Engineer
Rupert Coulson   Engineer
Chris Difford   Composer
David Domanich   Engineer
Ron Fair   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer
Kurt Fedora   Composer
Doug Fieger   Composer
Neil Finn   Composer
Gordon Gano   Composer
Leroy Green   Composer
Erik Hanson   Programming
Headliner   Composer
Henry Hirsch   Engineer
Steve Holroyd   Engineer
Peter Hook   Composer
Greg Hunter   Engineer
Jimmy Iovine   Producer
Dave Jerden   Producer,Remixing
Tyrone Garfield Kersey   Composer
Steve Klein   Engineer
Scott Litt   Producer,Engineer
J Mascis   Composer,Producer
Larry Mullen   Composer
Shelly Peiken   Composer
Quino   Advisor
Craig Ross   Composer
Speech   Composer
Ken Stringfellow   Composer
Chris Cuben Tatum   Producer,Engineer
David Tickle   Engineer
Glenn Tilbrook   Composer
Karl Wallinger   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Aaron Zigman   Programming
Stephen Morris   Composer
Juan Patino   Producer,Engineer
Karyn Rachtman   Executive Producer
Bernard Sumner   Composer
Angie Bianca   Composer
Dick Rudolph   Composer
Gillian Gilbert   Composer
Mike Chapman   Producer
Lars Fox   Engineer
John Shanks   Composer,Producer
Mathieu Bitton   Art Direction
Paul Farberman   Legal Counsel
Ben Stiller   Executive Producer
Todd Thomas   Composer
Mark Valentine   Engineer
Stacey Sher   Executive Producer
Jeff Rothschild   Engineer
Andy Dursin   Liner Notes
Jane Demian   Administration
Robert Gasper   Legal Counsel
James Murray   Engineer

Customer Reviews