Rated X-Traordinaire: The Best of Johnnie Taylor

Rated X-Traordinaire: The Best of Johnnie Taylor

by Johnnie TaylorJohnnie Taylor


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 9


The 16-track Rated X-Traordinaire sets out to rescue the reputation of the Johnnie Taylor of 1976-1980, the period that began with his biggest smash, "Disco Lady," but that found him, so the conventional wisdom goes, a Southern soul man set adrift on the disco wave. Annotator Kalamu Ya Salaam argues that "Disco Lady" is not a disco song, and backs this up by noting that the track actually was played by members of Parliament-Funkadelic. True enough, though that only applies to Taylor's debut Columbia album, Eargasm. Elsewhere, Taylor did drift, from Muscle Shoals tracks that updated his Stax Memphis sound to tracks that sounded like Marvin Gaye. The early years, 1976 and 1977, were more accomplished than the later ones, and that's where compilation producer Leo Sacks focuses, with 12 of the 16 tracks coming from then. In so doing, he ignores R&B chart singles like "Keep on Dancing" and "Ever Ready," but he satisfies the "best-of" title.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972365329
catalogNumber: 723653
Rank: 18272

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnnie Taylor   Primary Artist,Guitar
Enchantment   Background Vocals
Johnny Griffith   Keyboards
Bobbye Hall   Drums
Richard Allen   Percussion,Drums
Tippy Armstrong   Guitar
Carl Austin   Strings,Horn
Jackie Avery   Keyboards
Barry Beckett   Keyboards
Ken Bell   Guitar
Vassal Benford   Keyboards
Bootsy Collins   Bass
Lorenzo Brown   Percussion,Drums
Roger Clark   Percussion,Drums
Gregg Coles   Bass
Gary "Mudbone" Cooper   Percussion,Drums
Don Davis   Guitar
Donna Davis   Background Vocals
Quentin Dennard   Percussion,Drums
Quintin Denard   Percussion,Drums
Cynthia Douglas   Background Vocals
Rob Eaton   Background Vocals
Glen Goins   Guitar
Jay Graydon   Guitar
Ed Greene   Percussion,Drums
Melvin Griffin   Keyboards
Leroy Hadley   Guitar
Willie Hampton   Guitar
Roger Hawkins   Percussion,Drums
Michael Henderson   Bass
David Hood   Bass
Clayton Ivey   Keyboards
James Jamerson   Bass
James Jamerson   Bass
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar
Jerry Jones   Percussion,Drums
Lee Marcus   Percussion,Drums
Bruce Nazarian   Guitar
Bob Ray   Bass
Rudy Robinson   Keyboards
George Roundtree   Keyboards
Garry Shider   Guitar
Zackery Slater   Percussion,Drums
Emmett Smith   Guitar
Pamela Vincent   Background Vocals
Frank Wess   Flute
Fred Wesley   Strings,Horn
Anthony Willis   Bass
Eddie Willis   Guitar
Diane Davis   Background Vocals
Sonny Burke   Keyboards
Bobby Jackson   Guitar
Fred Wesley & the Horny Horns   Strings,Horn
Johnny Soul   Percussion,Drums
Arthur Franklin   Bass
Eli Fountaine   Alto Saxophone
Johnny Taylor   Guitar
Carl Smith   Percussion,Drums
Robert Eaton   Background Vocals
George Worrell   Keyboards
Benjamin Knight   Background Vocals
Patty Lewis   Background Vocals
Jim Henson Project   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Johnnie Taylor   Composer,Producer
Wade Marcus   Arranger
George Jackson   Composer
Bobbye Hall   Executive Producer
Jackie Avery   Composer
Pete Bishop   Engineer
Mickey Buckins   Composer
Don Davis   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Reginald Dozier   Engineer
Bert Keyes   Arranger
Jerry Masters   Engineer
Randy McCormick   Composer
Bruce Miller   Vocal Arrangements
Steve Moore   Engineer
Rudy Robinson   Arranger
Sonny Sanders   Arranger
Ken Sands   Engineer
Brad Shapiro   Producer
Allen Sides   Engineer
Don Smith   Engineer
David Van De Pitte   Arranger
Jim Vitti   Engineer
Fred Wesley   Arranger
Terry Woodford   Engineer
Leo Sacks   Producer
Christopher Banninger   Engineer
Tony Sellari   Artwork,Art Direction
Gina Campanaro   Packaging Manager
Ben Shaw   Composer
Johnny Taylor   Arranger,Producer
Robert Eaton   Vocal Arrangements
Jeff Steinberg   Arranger
George Worrell   Arranger

Customer Reviews