Raise Up

Raise Up

by Larry Graham & Graham Central StationLarry Graham & Graham Central Station


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Larry Graham's first album since 1998's GCS 2000, Raise Up involves an updated version of his Graham Central Station: vocalist Ashling Cole, longtime guitarist and vocalist Wilton Rabb, keyboardist David Council, and drummer Brian Braziel. On three songs, Prince assists on several instruments and background vocals, while Graham's fellow Oakland native Raphael Saadiq performs on the closing "One Day." Everything seems to have been written and recorded for the purpose of live performance -- one that has the crowd dancing and singing along as it switches its gaze between the leader, primary bandmembers, and the horn section and backing vocalists as well. Raise Up has the same lively spirit and beaming energy of those '70s GCS albums. That's due in part to new versions of "It's Alright," "Now Do U Wanta Dance," and "It Ain't No Fun to Me" (the Al Green song originally covered in 1974). There's also a cover of Stevie Wonder's "Higher Ground" led by Cole, and Release Yourself's "'Tis Your Kind of Music" slyly serves as the foundation of "No Way." Each performer gets her or his time to shine. It plays out like a well-organized throwdown. Graham, of course, is the center of it all with his deep baritone and nimble basslines.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Razor & Tie
UPC: 0793018337229
catalogNumber: 83372
Rank: 78747

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Larry Graham & Graham Central Station   Primary Artist
Prince   Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals
Larry Graham   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Snare Drums,Talk Box,Electronic Drums
Tina Graham   Vocals
James McKinney   Cymbals,Keyboards,Vocals,Vocoder
Wilton Rabb   Guitar,Vocals,Snare Drums
Raphael Saadiq   Guitar,Vocals
David Council   Keyboards,Vocals,Snare Drums
Lamar Carter   Drums
Michael "Millfield" Moelhede   Trombone,Trumpet
Tamar Davis   Vocals
Chance Howard   Vocals
Erik Häusler   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Mario Dawson   Drums
Rob Bacon   Guitar
Mike Scott   Guitar
Ashling Cole   Vocals
Brian Braziel   Drums,Snare Drums
Latia Eittreim   Vocals

Technical Credits

Green   Composer
Larry Graham   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Joachim Becker   Executive Producer
James McKinney   Arranger,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Stevie Wonder   Composer
David J. Russ   Engineer
Steve Mandel   Legal Counsel
Bob Engel   Booking
Chuck Brungardt   Engineer
Michael "Millfield" Moelhede   Horn Arrangements
Ashling Cole   Additional Music,Whistle
Mike Apodaca   Tour Manager
Tim Tjaden   Accounting
Quentin Geerinckx   Executive Producer,Booking,Tour Manager
Kenny Stevens   Web Design
Stéphane Piot   Engineer
Simon Sixsmith   Engineer
Steve Denniss   Engineer
Neil Burstein   Legal Counsel

Customer Reviews