Rainbow Mist

Rainbow Mist

by Coleman HawkinsColeman Hawkins


$16.42 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.42, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Hawkins was always an open-minded musician. A very advanced player even when he first emerged with Fletcher Henderson's orchestra in the '20s, by the '40s he may have been technically middle-aged but remained a young thinker. For his recording session of February 16, 1944, the great tenor invited some of the most promising younger players (including trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie, bassist Oscar Pettiford, and drummer Max Roach) and the result was the very first bebop on records. During their two sessions, the large ensemble recorded six selections, including Gillespie's "Woody'n You," Hawk's "Disorder at the Border," and a new treatment of "Body and Soul" by the tenorman that he retitled "Rainbow Mist." Also on this highly recommended CD are four titles matching together the tenors of Hawkins, Ben Webster, and Georgie Auld (with trumpeter Charlie Shavers included as a bonus) and a session from Auld's big band, highlighted by Sonny Berman's trumpet solo on "Taps Miller."

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/1993
Label: Delmark
UPC: 0038153045920
catalogNumber: 459
Rank: 10562


  1. Rainbow Mist
  2. Woody 'n You
  3. Bu-Dee-Daht
  4. Disorder at the Border
  5. Yesterdays
  6. Feeling Zero
  7. Salt Peanuts
  8. Uptown Lullaby
  9. Pick-Up Boys
  10. Porgy
  11. Concerto for Tenor
  12. Taps Miller
  13. I Can't Get Started
  14. Sweet and Lovely

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Coleman Hawkins   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Dizzy Gillespie   Trumpet
Budd Johnson   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Brass
Leo Parker   Alto Saxophone
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Specs Powell   Drums
Max Roach   Drums
Ben Webster   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Charlie Shavers   Trumpet
Sonny Berman   Trumpet
Howard McGhee   Trumpet
Israel Crosby   Bass,Piano
Ray Abrams   Tenor Saxophone
Cohn   Tenor Saxophone
Georgie Auld   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Harry Biss   Piano
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Rudy DeLuca   Trombone
Manny Fox   Trumpet
Lou Fromm   Drums
Clyde Hart   Piano
Morris Rayman   Bass
Irving Roth   Tenor Saxophone
George Schwartz   Trumpet
Hy White   Guitar
Gene Zanoni   Alto Saxophone
Billy Rowland   Piano
Jerry Dorn   Trombone
Bobby Lord   Trombone
Georgie Auld & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Coleman Hawkins & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Musky Ruffo   Alto Saxophone
Vic Coulson   Trumpet
Ed Van Dever   Trumpet
Leonard Lowry   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Count Basie   Composer
Buck Clayton   Composer
Leonard Feather   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Budd Johnson   Composer
Thad Jones   Composer
Coleman Hawkins   Composer
Kenny Clarke   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Randy Kling   Contributor
Robert G. Koester   Producer
Dan Morgenstern   Liner Notes
Bob Russell   Composer
Roger Seibel   Contributor
Jack Towers   Contributor
Paul Underwood   Contributor
Jerry Dorn   Contributor
Dave Jones   Contributor,Quality Control
J.P. Johnson   Composer
Brandtner   Cover Design
Harry Bliss   Contributor
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Charlie Hart   Composer
Steve Wagner   Producer

Customer Reviews