by Ke$haKe$ha


$14.64 $14.99 Save 2% Current price is $14.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 10


A rainbow is a beautiful trick of the light that arises after a thunderstorm, a fact that is not lost on Kesha, who experienced more than her share of tumult after her second album, 2012's Warrior. Two years after its release, the singer/songwriter filed a lawsuit against her producer and collaborator Dr. Luke, alleging emotional and sexual abuse, and he returned the volley with countersuits. Kesha's career crawled to a halt during the ensuing legal battles, and while they had not been resolved by the time she released Rainbow in August of 2017, the involved parties reached a détente to allow the album's appearance. Given how all her problems were laid bare in public, it's no surprise that Kesha opens Rainbow by singing "Don't let the bastards get you down/Don't let the a******* wear you out," a none-too-subtle allusion to her trials and tribulations. It's a theme that she returns to throughout Rainbow, framing it as a lament, an anthem of defiance and ultimately inspiration. As she sings on "Learn to Let Go" -- a song whose title is key to the whole record -- "the past can't haunt me if I don't let it," and if that lyric smacks of self-help, it's also true Kesha doesn't seem haunted by days gone by on Rainbow. Even when she's hinting at her pain, she's not wallowing in it: the whole point of the album is that she's found a path toward peace. Kesha's newfound serenity is underscored by how she still finds plenty of space to cut loose on Rainbow, cranking out a pair of metallic glam-rockers with Eagles of Death Metal, pouring glitter on Johnny Cash ("Hunt You Down"), pushing the neon pulse of "Boots," and even indulging in a bit of twee folk on "Godzilla." Still, the heart of Rainbow lies in its stirring ballads, and while these odes to self-empowerment are endemic to 2010s pop, Kesha's emotions feel earned not because we know her backstory but because her songs are specific, not generic. Sometimes she'll slide into cliché, usually by recycling therapy-speak, but how she pairs these credos with veiled confessions is as striking and moving as her party songs are weird and funny. By slyly alternating between these two extremes throughout Rainbow, Kesha winds up with a comeback that's fully realized emotionally and musically.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/2017
Label: Rca
UPC: 0889854593629
catalogNumber: 545936
Rank: 3817


  1. Bastards
  2. Let 'Em Talk
  3. Woman
  4. Hymn
  5. Praying
  6. Learn to Let Go
  7. Finding You
  8. Rainbow
  9. Hunt You Down
  10. Boogie Feet
  11. Boots
  12. Old Flames (Can't Hold a Candle to You)
  13. Godzilla
  14. Spaceship

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ke$ha   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Rick Nowels   Organ,Acoustic Guitar
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Saundra Williams   Background Vocals
Ben Folds   Percussion,Piano,Electric Bass,Celeste,Timpani
Stuart Crichton   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Cochemea Gastelum   Baritone Saxophone
Pebe Sebert   Background Vocals
Dave Catching   Guitar
Neal Sugarman   Tenor Saxophone
Tom Peyton   Horn
Ian Fitchuk   Drums
Jorma Vik   Drums
Ira Glansbeek   Celli
Eagles of Death Metal   Background Vocals
Rob Moose   Violin
Nick Annis   Guitar
Danielle Withers   Vocals
Spencer Cullum   Pedal Steel Guitar
Gabriel Cabezas   Celli
Nadia Sirota   Viola
Elana Stone   Background Vocals
Gary Ferguson   Drums
Lara Wickes   Oboe
Drew Pearson   Banjo,Bass,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
David Levitt   Electric Guitar
Kesha Sebert   Background Vocals
Jeremy Fetzer   Guitar
Jesse Hughes   Guitar,Vocals,Talk Box
Dave Guy   Trumpet
Matt McJunkins   Bass
Robbie Crowell   Keyboards,Wurlitzer
Ryan Lerman   Vocals
Nate Mercereau   Guitar,Guitar Synth (Horns)
Andrew Joslyn   Strings,Violin,Conductor
Kenton Chen   Vocals
Ben Bram   Vocals
Ross Garren   Bass Harmonica
Katelyn Faraudo   French Horn
Theo Katzman   Percussion
Georgia Mooney   Background Vocals
Jon Estes   Bass
Ricky Reed   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums,Keyboards
Rebecca Filice   Celli
Roget Chahayed   Piano
Eli Weinberger   Celli
Garrett Overcash   Violin
Hannah Crofts   Background Vocals
Alex Sopp   Flute
Seth May-Patterson   Viola
Christopher Foerstel   Viola
Andrew Kam   Violin
Sarah Malmstrom   Violin
Ramage Jacobs   Mandolin
Heather Borror   Violin

Technical Credits

Hugh Moffatt   Composer
Rick Nowels   Composer,Producer
Ben Folds   Arranger,Producer
Joe Costa   Engineer
Bobby Holland   Engineer
Stuart Crichton   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,beats,Vocal Engineer
Pebe Sebert   Composer,Producer
Dave Way   Engineer
Kevin Estrada   Engineer
Ryan Lewis   Composer,Producer
Kieron Menzies   Engineer
Brian Roettinger   Art Direction
Justin Tranter   Composer
Rob Moose   Arranger
Dean Reid   Engineer
Fareed Salamah   Engineer
Nathan Chapman   Composer
Eric Frederic   Composer
Chris Galland   Engineer
Stephen Wrabel   Composer
Drew Pearson   Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Vocal Producer
Kesha Sebert   Composer
Ke$ha   Producer,Vocal Producer
Nate Mercereau   Producer,Additional Production
Cara Salimando   Composer
Brody Brown   Producer
Andrew Joslyn   Composer,String Arrangements
Mike Stankiewicz   Engineer
Robert Beatty   Artwork
Trevor Yasuda   Engineer
Ricky Reed   Programming,Producer,drum programming,beats,Instrumentation
Roget Chahayed   Composer,Programming,Producer
Leandro Hidalgo   Engineer
Claire Wilkinson   Composer
Ethan Shumaker   Engineer
Ben Abraham   Composer
Jonny Price   Composer,Programming,Producer
Andrew Pearson   Composer
Chris Garcia   Engineer

Customer Reviews