Queen of Swords: An epic tale of a princess of the Crusades

Queen of Swords: An epic tale of a princess of the Crusades

by Judith Tarr

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Queen in all but name, one woman's battle to rule her kingdom, from the Court of Jerusalem to the glorious city of Byzantium.

Melisende was the oldest daughter of Baldwin of Jerusalem, a princess of the Franks and, since she had no brothers, heir to the Crusader Kingdom. The crown would go to the man who married her, and after to her son.

But Melisende was a strong woman; the law that forced her to marry instead of taking the crown in her own name was a thorn in her side. It was she who ruled the City and who juggled the politics of church and court.

The knights of Jerusalem fought in her honour, many of the best sworn to her personal service. She would not submit easily to a husband's rule, but must she to secure her kingdom?

A gripping adventure telling the forgotten story of the notorious matriarch of 12th-century Jerusalem, this third book in Judith Tarr's Three Queens series is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Chadwick and Conn Iggulden.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788636193
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 07/22/2019
Series: The Three Queens , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 450
Sales rank: 923,722
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Judith Tarr is the author of over forty novels of fantasy, science fiction, and historical fiction. She holds an MA in Classics from Cambridge and a PhD in Medieval Studies from Yale. Her novels have won the Crawford Award and been nominated for the Locus Award and the World Fantasy Award. She lives in Arizona, USA, with a herd of Lipizzan horses, a clowder of cats, and a blue-eyed dog.

Customer Reviews