Quantum Man: Richard Feynman's Life in Science

Quantum Man: Richard Feynman's Life in Science

by Lawrence M. Krauss


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"A worthy addition to the Feynman shelf and a welcome follow-up to the standard-bearer, James Gleick's Genius." —Kirkus Reviews

Perhaps the greatest physicist of the second half of the twentieth century, Richard Feynman changed the way we think about quantum mechanics, the most perplexing of all physical theories. Here Lawrence M. Krauss, himself a theoretical physicist and a best-selling author, offers a unique scientific biography: a rollicking narrative coupled with clear and novel expositions of science at the limits. From the death of Feynman’s childhood sweetheart during the Manhattan Project to his reluctant rise as a scientific icon, we see Feynman’s life through his science, providing a new understanding of the legacy of a man who has fascinated millions.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393340655
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 03/26/2012
Series: Great Discoveries Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 291,884
Product dimensions: 7.90(w) x 5.40(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Lawrence M. Krauss is the director of the Origins Initiative at Arizona State University and has written more than three hundred scientific publications and seven books, including The Physics of Star Trek and A Universe from Nothing. He lives in Tempe, Arizona, and Shaker Heights, Ohio.

Table of Contents

Introduction xi

Part I The Paths to Greatness

Chapter 1 Lights, Camera, Action 3

Chapter 2 The Quantum Universe 18

Chapter 3 A New Way of Thinking 36

Chapter 4 Alice in Quantumland 51

Chapter 5 Endings and Beginnings 59

Chapter 6 Loss of Innocence 76

Chapter 7 Paths to Greatness 92

Chapter 8 From Here to Infinity 108

Chapter 9 Splitting an Atom 124

Chapter 10 Through a Glass Darkly 141

Part II The Rest of the Universe

Chapter 11 Matter of the Heart and the Heart of Matter 163

Chapter 12 Rearranging the Universe 180

Chapter 13 Hiding in the Mirror 193

Chapter 14 Distractions and Delights 218

Chapter 15 Twisting the Tail of the Cosmos 233

Chapter 16 From Top to Bottom 263

Chapter 17 Truth, Beauty, and Freedom 287

Epilogue Character Is Destiny 314

Acknowledgments and Sources 321

Index 325

Customer Reviews