Put the O Back in Country

Put the O Back in Country

by Shooter JenningsShooter Jennings

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$20.91 $21.99 Save 5% Current price is $20.91, Original price is $21.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Put the "O" Back in Country is comparable to such watershed country-rock moments as the release of Steve Earle's Guitar Town in 1986 or Kris Kristofferson's emergence in 1969 -- that is to say, the writing is brutally honest and personal, colloquial and poetic all at once, and by turns humorous, self-deprecating, openhearted, and spiritually yearning. The music, played by a basic quartet (featuring organ) and fleshed out by pedal steel and fiddle, embraces Shooter's dad, Waylon's, definition of hard country and advances it into the rock-informed province of Springsteen and the E Streeters, early Lynyrd Skynyrd, Steve Earle & the Dukes, and even early Leon Russell. An overpowering, gospel-drenched distaff trio of singers (including mom Jessi Colter) underscores the pointed torching of L.A.'s mind- and soul-numbing culture in "Southern Comfort." The music rises to majestic rock 'n' roll fury on "4th of July," an ode to the road, and roars in homage to the spirit of Skynyrd in the snarling "Daddy's Farm." The mood turns inward and poignant on an unlisted bonus track, "My Song for You," with Jennings accompanying himself on piano; his voice is unadorned, gritty, and expressive, with a synth wash humming hymn-like behind him -- a bit of lacerating introspection suggestive a Jackson Browne classic on the order of "These Days." From this pastiche of styles and sensibilities, Shooter Jennings has fashioned a magnificent personal statement.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2005
Label: Umvd Labels
UPC: 0602498805893
catalogNumber: 000381601
Rank: 29035


  1. Put the O Back in Country
  2. 4th of July
  3. Lonesome Blues
  4. Solid Country Gold
  5. Busted in Baylor County
  6. Sweet Savannah
  7. Steady at the Wheel
  8. Manifesto No. 1
  9. The Letter
  10. Southern Comfort
  11. Daddy's Farm

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shooter Jennings   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,Wurlitzer,Piano (Grand)
George Jones   Background Vocals
Jessi Colter   Vocals,Background Vocals
Chris Lawrence   Pedal Steel Guitar
Hank Williams   Background Vocals
Faith Evans   Vocals,Background Vocals
Eric Heywood   Pedal Steel Guitar
CeCe White   Vocals
Travis Parker   Fiddle
Bryan Keeling   Drums
Ted Russell Kamp   Bass,Piano,Background Vocals
Leroy Powell   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Dobro,Harmonica,Strings,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,12-string Guitar,Slide Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Neil Young   Composer
David Cobb   Producer,Engineer
Mark Rains   Engineer
Shooter Jennings   Arranger,Composer,Art Direction
Ted Russell Kamp   Arranger,Composer
Leroy Powell   Arranger,Composer
Dave Cobb   Audio Production

Customer Reviews