Punk-O-Rama 9

Punk-O-Rama 9

CD(Bonus DVD)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The ninth volume of this longstanding compilation series is a comprehensive cross-section of the artists on Epitaph and its associated labels Hellcat and Rhymesayers. Kicking off with Bad Religion's fold-returning "Social Suicide," the set breaks up the emocore chokehold of nameplates like From First to Last, Matchbook Romance, and Scatter the Ashes with hip-hop from Atmosphere ("The Keys to Life vs. 15 Minutes of Fame") and the rousing punk revivalism of Rancid and Dropkick Murphys. (The latter's fun, bawdy duet "The Dirty Glass" is a collection highlight.) Scatter the Ashes and Refused offer technical, visceral takes on the post-hardcore aesthetic, while solid contributions from Nekromantix, Tiger Army, and HorrorPops point uninitiated cherries toward the psychobilly funhouse. The majority of Punk-O-Rama, Vol. 9 is culled from current releases; however, there is an unreleased live track from Death By Stereo, as well as Hot Water Music's "Seein' Diamonds," a melodic Jawbreaker-type number seeing its first domestic issue. Fans of Dillinger Escape Plan vocalist Greg Puciato who may have missed Error, his industrial dalliance with Brett Gurewitz and assorted pals, will enjoy the wack KMFDM smack of "Burn in Hell," and Eyedea & Abilities' "Now" helps close the set with rapid raps and cut-up OutKast-ian rhythms. [Punk-O-Rama, Vol. 9 also packed a DVD with video content from many of its musical contributors, as well as acts like Randy and Converge.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2004
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778671625
catalogNumber: 86716
Rank: 9200

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Laura Lee   Composer
Pennywise   Composer
Tim Armstrong   Composer
Brett Gurewitz   Composer
Lars Frederiksen   Composer
Greg Graffin   Composer
Moondog   Director
Hot Water Music   Composer
Pat Wilson   Composer
Pulley   Composer
Refused   Composer
Bouncing Souls   Composer
Death by Stereo   Composer
Weakerthans   Composer
Nekromantix   Composer
John K. Samson   Composer
1208   Composer
Atom Willard   Composer
DJ Abilities   Composer
Eyedea & Abilities   Composer
Matchbook Romance   Composer
Motion City Soundtrack   Composer,Director
Andrew Carranza   Director
Error   Composer
Simon Hughes   Director
Vinny Imbriale   Director
Geno Imbriale   Director
Christian Bienne   Author
Darren Doane   Director
Light Born   Director
Gareth ONeil   Director
Punk Video Guys   Director
Justin Purser   Director
Caelum Vatnsdal   Director
Christian Winters   Director

Customer Reviews