Psychotic Revelation: The Ultimate Count Five

Psychotic Revelation: The Ultimate Count Five

by The Count Five The Count Five




Though Collectables' Psychotic Reaction: The Complete Psychotic Reaction did include every one of the band's 18 officially released tracks, Big Beat's Psychotic Revelation: The Ultimate Count Five does indeed replace it as the ultimate Count Five compilation. It's not just because it includes every one of those 18 tracks and then some, with half a dozen unreleased outtakes, demos, and unedited versions. It's also because there's a great 24-page booklet on the history of the band by Alec Palao that clears up much of the mystery surrounding the Count Five, with quotes from most of the members. While the additional material is neither that revelatory or voluminous, it does include some nice bonuses. Prominent among them is the original unedited version of "Psychotic Reaction," with a previously unheard tag and key change at the end, though Double Shot Records was wise to release the reassembled version that became the big hit. Also on hand is an unedited version of "They're Gonna Get You" from the Count Five's sole LP, as well as a demo of the group's non-LP single "Contrast" and some fair unreleased originals by John "Sean" Byrne. The excellent packaging doesn't disguise the failure of any of the band's other material to come close to matching the garage-psychedelic classic "Psychotic Reaction," or how derivative much of it was of British Invasion bands (particularly the Yardbirds). Still, they did conjure some above-average tracks like "Double Decker Bus," the psychedelic-tinged "Peace of Mind," and the poppier psychedelia of "Merry-Go-Round," making this ultimately worthwhile for the committed '60s garage fan.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2003
Label: Big Beat Uk
UPC: 0029667423021
catalogNumber: 230
Rank: 50094


  1. Psychotic Reaction
  2. Double Decker Bus
  3. Pretty Big Mouth
  4. The World
  5. My Generation
  6. She's Fine
  7. Peace of Mind
  8. They're Gonna Get You
  9. The Morning After
  10. Can't Get Your Lovin'
  11. Out in the Street
  12. Move It Up
  13. So Much
  14. You Must Believe Me
  15. Teeny Bopper, Teeny Bopper
  16. Contrast
  17. Merry-Go-Round
  18. Revelation in Slow Motion
  19. Declaration of Independence
  20. Enchanted Flowers
  21. Mailman
  22. Contrast
  23. People Hear What I Say
  24. Psychotic Reaction

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Count Five   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Stan Freberg   Composer
Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Pete Townshend   Composer
General   Composer
Roy Chaney   Composer,Contributor
Kenn Ellner   Composer,Contributor
John Michalski   Composer,Contributor
Phil Mogg   Composer
Maurice Rodgers   Composer
Pete Way   Composer
Hal Winn   Composer,Producer
Butch Atkinson   Contributor
Alec Palao   Liner Notes
Joe Hooven   Producer
John Byrne   Composer,Contributor
Squires   Contributor
Skip Cordell   Contributor
Sol Ellner   Contributor
Craig "Butch" Atkinson   Composer

Customer Reviews