Presumed Innocent

Presumed Innocent

by Marcia BallMarcia Ball


$18.64 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.64, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 11


Those looking for blues, R&B, rootsy rock & roll, gospel-tinged ballads, loungy supper club jazz, and boogie-woogie piano pounding all led by an instantly recognizable powerhouse voice infused with gritty soul will rejoice with Marcia Ball. Although this is only her sixth album since her career shifted into high gear with 1984's Soulful Dress, Ball hits all those bases and more on her debut for Alligator. She's as comfortable with heart-wrenching lost-love songs like this album's touching "Let the Tears Roll Down" as with loose-limbed swampy piano/accordion-powered rockers such as "Louella." Her show-stopping piano virtuosity takes a back seat for the majority of this release, as Ball turns up the tough R&B heat on a cover of "Fly on the Wall" with guests Sonny Landreth on slide guitar and backing singers right out of Aretha Franklin's '60s heyday. Horns also play a large part, underpinning the Bobby "Blue" Bland-styled Crescent City soul-blues and rolling Fats Domino piano of Don Covay's "I'm Coming Down With the Blues." The opening "Scene of the Crime," powered by Gary Primich's plucky harmonica, is one of Ball's best tracks, with a snappy melody, gutsy singing, and Southern-fried R&B attack. Allen Toussaint's "You Make It Hard" finds fellow Texan Delbert McClinton on duet vocals highlighting the track's urging slow groove. Classy and subdued yet bubbling with passion, emotion, and a love of Southern-style music that explodes out of every track, with Presumed Innocent Marcia Ball has released what is arguably the finest and most inspired album of her career.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2001
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551487920
catalogNumber: 4879
Rank: 51102


  1. Scene of the Crime
  2. You Make It Hard
  3. Count the Days
  4. Let the Tears Roll Down
  5. Louella
  6. Fly on the Wall
  7. I Have the Right to Know
  8. Thibodaux, Louisiana
  9. I'm Coming Down With the Blues
  10. Shake a Leg
  11. Somebody to Love
  12. She's So Innocent
  13. You Make Me Happy

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marcia Ball   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Chris Hunter   Drums
Keith Robinson   Drums,Background Vocals
Sonny Landreth   Slide Guitar
C.C. Adcock   Rhythm Guitar
Roscoe Beck   Bass
Doyle Bramhall   Drums,Background Vocals
Pat Breaux   Accordion,Tenor Saxophone
Wayne Jackson   Trumpet
Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff   Baritone Saxophone
Paul Klemperer   Tenor Saxophone
Derek O'Brien   Guitar
Riley Osbourne   Hammond Organ
Gary Primich   Harmonica
Pat Boyack   Guitar
Casper Rawls   Acoustic Guitar
Gary Slechta   Trumpet
Susan Abbott   Background Vocals
Dan Torosian   Tenor Saxophone
Bonnie Bishop   Background Vocals
Don Bennett   Bass,Background Vocals
Brad Andrew   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Marcia Ball   Producer
Doyle Bramhall   Producer
Jared Tuten   Engineer
Brenda Burns   Composer
Don Covay   Composer

Customer Reviews