Preservation Hall Hot 4 With Duke Dejan

Preservation Hall Hot 4 With Duke Dejan

by Preservation Hall Jazz BandPreservation Hall Jazz Band


$20.58 $21.99 Save 6% Current price is $20.58, Original price is $21.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of three initial releases for the Preservation Hall Recordings label, The Preservation Hall Hot 4 with Duke Dejan, recorded in 1996, is an engaging listen that centers around the vocals of the legendary founder of the Olympia Brass Band, Harold "Duke" Dejan. Spotlighting the bare essentials of what makes Preservation Hall the preeminent New Orleans band, the group is paired down to trumpeter/vocalist Wendell Brunious, guitarist/vocalist Don Vappie, pianist Thadeus Richard, and bassist Benjamin Jaffe. Aged jazzer Dejan has a rough but still melodic voice, soaked in tradition that works perfectly on such tasty standards as "I'm Alone Because I Love You" and "Basin Street Blues," in which he humorously ad-libs, "Now Basin Street used to be a good location. Right next door to that fillin' station. That's where you'd get your good stuff. You'd get your oil, you'd get your grease and hear the woman say, 'Aw daddy, would ya come in please?'" However, it's Brunious, with his Louis Armstrong-cum-Clifford Brown trumpet style that brilliantly updates Preservation Hall's traditional roots. He and Vappie also take some compelling and joyful vocal turns on "Corrina, Corrina" and "Ain't She Sweet," respectively.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2004
Label: Preservation Hall
UPC: 0674511000325
catalogNumber: 302
Rank: 200528

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Preservation Hall Jazz Band   Primary Artist
Harold Dejan   Vocals
Thadeus Richard   Piano,Group Member
Don Vappie   Guitar,Group Member
Wendell Brunious   Trumpet,Group Member
Benjamin Jaffe   Bass,Group Member
Duke Dejan   Track Performer

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Milton Ager   Composer
Harry Barris   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Billy Moll   Composer
J. Neiburg   Composer
Ellis Reynolds   Composer
Steve Reynolds   Engineer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Jack Yellen   Composer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Benjamin Jaffe   Executive Producer
Joe Young   Composer
Ted Koehler   Composer
Harry Akst   Composer
Henry Tobias   Composer
Doc Daugherty   Composer
Moe Jaffe   Composer
Larry Vincent   Composer
Traditional   Composer
David Cohen   Graphic Design
Gary Cananzey   Packaging
Kerry Mills   Composer
Thurland Chattaway   Composer

Customer Reviews