Prayer: Viola Solo, Parts

Prayer: Viola Solo, Parts

by Julian Anderson (Composer)


Usually ships within 6 days


Prayer for Solo Viola was commissioned by the Nash Concert Society for the Nash Ensemble and was first performed by Lawrence Power at the Wigmore Hall, London, on March 5, 2009. This short piece (8 minutes) explores the rich and varied tone of the viola. The basic trajectory is an upwardly flowing melodic line, by turns contemplative and passionately lyrical, interrupted by a variety of other sonorities and contrasting episodes. Prayer is dedicated to Ginny Macbeth, in gratitude and recognition of her tireless work on behalf of classical music and contemporary composers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780571536351
Publisher: FABER & FABER
Publication date: 03/01/2015
Series: Faber Edition
Pages: 1
Product dimensions: 0.00(w) x 0.00(h) x 0.00(d)

Customer Reviews