Positively Izzy

Positively Izzy

by Terri Libenson

Paperback

$10.39 $12.99 Save 20% Current price is $10.39, Original price is $12.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Overview

Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson.

Middle school is all about labels.

Izzy is the dreamer. There’s nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done.

Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there’s more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to “break out of her shell” and join drama club.

The girls’ lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062484963
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/01/2018
Series: Emmie & Friends Series
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 24,425
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Terri Libenson is the bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy. She is also the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio. You can find her online at www.terrilibenson.com.


Terri Libenson is the bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy. She is also the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio. You can find her online at www.terrilibenson.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Positively Izzy 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An amazing book with an incredible plot twist! The best book I have ever read! No joke!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is kinda like invisibke emmie this book is so heartwarming.
Anonymous 7 months ago
When it says who even smokes anymore is hurtgul bexcause my grandma snokes and she id super super nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""!!!"!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best book in the world
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The+book+was+great+also+at+the+end+there+is+a+twist.....+but+I+cannot+say+why+you+have+to+read+it%21%0A
JillJemmett More than 1 year ago
This is a good book about middle school. I liked that these girls had to deal with conflicts like getting poor grades and being grounded. These are real things, which could mean that you miss out on school events. Brianna’s mom works at her school, which I think was kind of obvious from the way she acted at the beginning. But we had to wait a while for the big reveal that her mom is a teacher. I think she was overreacting to that. My mom worked in my school office for many of my elementary school years, and it was so handy to have my mom there! I loved it. If I felt sick or needed anything, I could always go downstairs and see her. I liked the big reveal at the end of this book. I was wondering through the whole book what the connection between the two stories was, and I liked the ending. However, I wish we didn’t have to wait until the very last page to figure it out.
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
I didn’t catch the twist on this one till I was about halfway through and then I ended up reading this graphic novel twice so I could truly appreciate it. Honestly, I wonder how many teens/children will really get the twist on this book. I enjoyed the “play” on this book but I think more hints could have been inserted in the novel to make it more enjoyable. There are two stories taking place in this novel constructed of both graphic novel and narration. As you read the novel, there is a clear distinction between the two, on which story you are reading. One story is about Izzy who lives with her sisters and her mom. Izzy loves drama but school work, not so much. When her mother discovers Izzy’s failure to keep up with her schoolwork, Izzy feels like her world is falling apart. I liked how this story came together in the end and Izzy’s family. The other story is about Bri, who is smart but doesn’t care about drama. Bri’s mother is the drama teacher at school. At the last minute, Bri is asked to fill in for someone, on stage. I enjoyed watching Bri deal with this new experience and I liked the conclusion. The illustrations were bright and colorful and the text was easy to read. I liked that the author used two different styles, to write the two different stories within this graphic novel, so that it is easier to tell the stories apart. I think you need to read this novel a few times to fully appreciate it (once you understand the twist in the story). Again, I wished the author would have added more in the writing to help uncover the twist as I feel some individuals will not see it and that would be a shame. I would recommend to older elementary and middle school readers, so they can understand the twist or perhaps uncover the twist to other readers, if they don’t discover it after they read it (so they can fully appreciate the novel).