Portraits [Bonus Tracks]

Portraits [Bonus Tracks]

by Clark TerryClark Terry


$15.99 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 28


Flugelhornist Clark Terry recorded quite frequently in the 1980s, and his consistency was very impressive. Terry's good humor, joyful and immediately distinctive sound, and creative, bop-oriented ideas combined to form a very accessible style. This Chesky CD finds C.T. joined by pianist Don Friedman, bassist Victor Gaskin and drummer Lewis Nash for a variety of superior standards and Terry's lone original "Finger Filibuster." The songs all pay tribute to various trumpeters, and some, such as "Pennies from Heaven," "Little Jazz" and "I Don't Wanna Be Kissed," were not performed by the flugelhornist all that often; the resulting music is fresher than usual and often quite inspired. Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/06/1994
Label: Chesky Records
UPC: 0090368200228
catalogNumber: 2
Rank: 74105


  1. Pennies from Heaven
  2. Sugar Blues
  3. Autumn Leaves
  4. Finger Filibuster
  5. Little Jazz
  6. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  7. Jive at Five
  8. Ciribiribin
  9. Ow!
  10. I Can't Get Started
  11. I Don't Wanna Be Kissed

Album Credits

Customer Reviews