Portrait of a Legend 1951-1964

Portrait of a Legend 1951-1964

by Sam CookeSam Cooke


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Some 46 years after his first pop hit, and 39 years after his death, comes only the second attempt at a comprehensive Sam Cooke collection. Portrait of a Legend 1951-1964 eclipses RCA's early-'80s The Man and His Music, going it better in running time but losing some important recordings -- "That's Heaven to Me" and "Soothe Me," arguably one of Cooke's most important songs -- in the process of summing up his career. From 1951's Soul Stirrers' gospel classic "Touch the Hem of His Garment" through to 1964's "A Change Is Gonna Come" and "Shake," we get highlights of Cooke's career presented in state-of-the-art digital audio; superior in every way possible to the audio quality of The Man and His Music. What's more, this is a hybrid disc with SACD capability, and the sound on that layer is almost as much of a jump above the quality on the CD layer as this remastering is from the old The Man and His Music disc; and either the standard CD or the SACD playback makes that 1980s-issued compilation sound faint and anemic. There's also annotation here -- which was totally lacking on the earlier CD -- by Peter Guralnick, which delves very effectively into the background of each song. And the producers have taken the trouble to be a little inventive in the programming -- it would have been easy enough to follow a strict chronological approach, but instead the disc opens and closes with tracks that reveal Cooke's gospel roots, which is pretty much where his music started and where it ended up, bookending his first hit with songs from his first session ever.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/17/2003
Label: Abkco
UPC: 0018771926429
catalogNumber: 92642
Rank: 4287

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sam Cooke   Primary Artist
Glen Campbell   Guitar
Billy Preston   Organ
Lou Rawls   Vocals
Bobby Womack   Guitar
Frank Capp   Percussion,Drums
Plas Johnson   Saxophone
Barney Kessel   Guitar
Stu Williamson   Trumpet
Mike Pacheco   Conga
Julius Wechter   Percussion
David Nadien   Violin
J.J. Farley   Background Vocals
Sue Allen   Background Vocals
Israel Baker   Violin
Hal Blaine   Percussion,Drums
Robert Barene   Violin
Everett Barksdale   Guitar
Harold Battiste   Piano
Edward Truman Beal   Piano
Arnold Belnick   Violin
Louise Blackburn   Trombone
Edgar Blanchard   Guitar
Samuel Boghossian   Viola
James E. Bond   Bass
John Boudreaux   Drums
Ralph Brewster   Background Vocals
Ted Brinson   Bass
Alfred Brown   Violin
Thomas L. Bruster   Background Vocals
James Bryant   Background Vocals
Robert Bryant   Trumpet
Max Cahn   Violin
Red Callender   Bass
Harper Cosby   Bass
Leroy Crume   Guitar
John DeVoogdt   Violin
Harold Dicterow   Violin
Jesse Ehrlich   Cello
Frank Fields   Bass
Cecil Figelski   Cello
Paul Foster   Background Vocals
Panama Francis   Drums
Frederick Seykora   Cello
Ernie Freeman   Piano
Albert "Gentleman June" Gardner   Drums
Richard Gibbs   Background Vocals
Jewell L. Grant   Saxophone
William Green   Saxophone
Rene Hall   Guitar,Conductor
Harry Lookofsky   Violin
Allan Harshman   Viola
Jimmie Haskell   Conductor
Ernie Hayes   Piano
Milt Hinton   Bass
Howard Roberts   Guitar
Harry Hyams   Viola
Raymond Johnson   Piano
Armand Karpoff   Cello
John Kelson   Saxophone
Tom Kenny   Background Vocals
William Kurash   Violin
Melvin Lastie   Trumpet
Charles Libove   Violin
Marvin Limonick   Violin
Ulysses Livingston   Guitar
Leonard Malarsky   Violin
Alexander Neiman   Viola
Loulie Jean Norman   Background Vocals
Gareth "Garry" Nuttycombe   Violin
Wilbert Nuttycombe   Viola
Glenn Osser   Conductor
Earl Palmer   Drums
Charles Parlato   Background Vocals
Jack Pepper   Violin
John Pisano   Guitar
William Pitman   Guitar
Ray Pohlman   Bass
Emil Radocchia   Percussion,Marimbas,Timpani
R.B. Robinson   Background Vocals
Isadore Roman   Violin
Myron Sandler   Violin
Emmet Sargeant   Cello
Ralph Schaeffer   Violin
Marshall Sosson   Violin
Sally Stevens   Background Vocals
Robert Tebow   Background Vocals
Tommy Tedesco   Guitar
Darrel Terwilliger   Violin
Jackie Ward   Background Vocals
Dave Wells   Trombone
Clifton White   Guitar
Tibor Zelig   Violin
Adolphus Alsbrook   Bass
Joseph Saxon   Violin
Anthony Terran   Trumpet
Alicia Adams   Background Vocals
Joseph R. Gibbons   Banjo,Guitar
Irving Lipschultz   Violin
Archie Levin   Violin
Elliot Fisher   Violin
Jack Halloran   Background Vocals
Ambrose Russo   Violin
Red Tyler   Saxophone
John Anderson   Trumpet
Sidney Sharp   Violin
Sammy Lowe   Conductor
Chuck Badie   Bass
Lee Gotch   Background Vocals
George Collier   Guitar
Eddie Hall   Percussion,Drums
Jack Costanza   Bongos
Betty Jane Baker   Background Vocals
John Ewing   Trombone
Russell Bridges   Piano
Clifford Hils   Bass
Bob King   Guitar
Charles Blackwell   Drums
Ben Miller   Violin
Hinda Barnet   Violin
Norman Bartold   Guitar
Joseph Coppin   Cello
S.R. Crain   Background Vocals
S.S. Farley   Background Vocals
Fred Fradkin   Violin
Carol Lee Lombard   Background Vocals
Warren Myles   Piano
Jimmie Outler   Background Vocals
Edgar Redmond   Saxophone
Ronald Selico   Drums
Eddie Tilman   Bass
Doreen Tryden   Background Vocals
William Hinshaw   French Horn

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Herb Alpert   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer,Producer
James W. Alexander   Composer
Pee Wee King   Composer
Redd Stewart   Composer
Lou Adler   Composer,Producer
William Best   Composer
Peter Guralnick   Liner Notes
Rene Hall   Arranger,Producer
Jimmie Haskell   Arranger
David Hassinger   Engineer
Hugo   Producer
Iris Keitel   Art Direction
Dino Lappas   Engineer
Luigi   Producer
Clarence Paul   Composer
Steve Rosenthal   Archives Coordinator
Art Rupe   Producer
Schmitt   Producer,Engineer
Ed Townsend   Composer
Deek Watson   Composer
Barbara Mayson Campbell   Composer
James Alexander   Composer
Gus Skinas   Engineer
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Alisa Ritz   Art Direction
Lenne Allik   Concept
Robert "Bumps" Blackwell   Producer
Larraine Walton   Audio Production Director
Angelo Tillery   Cover Illustration
L.C. Cooke   Composer
R. Harris   Composer
Lucie E. Campbell   Composer
William Cook   Composer
Barbara Campbell   Composer
Chester Burnett   Composer

Customer Reviews