Pork Soda

Pork Soda

by PrimusPrimus




Once audiences got a chance to hear Primus' instantly recognizable sound, driven by Les Claypool's bizarrely virtuosic bass riffs, their audience grew by leaps and bounds. It was enough to make their second major-label album, Pork Soda, one of the strangest records ever to debut in the Top Ten. Stylistically, it isn't much different from Sailing the Seas of Cheese, though the band does stretch out and jam more often. This can result in some overly repetitive sections, since Claypool's riffs are the basis for most of the compositions, but it also showcases the band's ever-increasing level of musicianship. Their ensemble interplay continues to grow in complexity and musicality, and that's really what fans want from a Primus record anyway. The material isn't quite as consistent as Seas of Cheese, though there are numerous high points; among them are "My Name Is Mud," on which Claypool plays his instrument like percussion, and "Mr. Krinkle," where he switches to a bowed upright bass. There are hints of lyrical darkness stripped of the band's usual goofiness (especially in the suicide lament "Bob"), but for the most part, the humor is again split between eccentric character sketches, cheery paranoia, and annoying novelties (with a slightly higher percentage of the latter than before). Still, despite occasional flaws, what makes Pork Soda a success is that the band keeps finding novel variations on their signature sound, even if they never step out of it.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/1993
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0606949225728
catalogNumber: 92257


  1. Pork Chop's Little Ditty
  2. My Name Is Mud
  3. Welcome to This World
  4. Bob
  5. DMV
  6. Ol' Diamondback Sturgeon (Fisherman's Chronicles, Pt. 3)
  7. Nature Boy
  8. Wounded Knee
  9. Pork Soda
  10. The Pressman
  11. Mr. Krinkle
  12. The Air Is Getting Slippery
  13. Hamburger Train
  14. Pork Chop's Little Ditty
  15. Hail Santa

Album Credits

Customer Reviews