Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Political Blues

Political Blues

by World Saxophone Quartet World Saxophone Quartet
Political Blues

Political Blues

by World Saxophone Quartet World Saxophone Quartet


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 2


World Saxophone Quartet has built a large, impressive and diverse catalog that ranges from the extreme to the relatively accessible. Political Blues falls into the relatively accessible category, but for WSQ's 2006 lineup (Oliver Lake on alto and soprano sax, Bruce Williams on alto and soprano sax, Hamiet Bluiett on baritone sax and David Murray on tenor sax and bass clarinet), relatively accessible doesn't mean unchallenging. In fact, the songs that have lyrics pack a strong sociopolitical punch. The title track (which features Murray on lead vocals) expresses the group's disdain for the administration of President George W. Bush, and "Spy on Me Blues" (with Lake on vocals) is a biting yet humorous commentary on Bush's embarrassing performance during the Hurricane Katrina disaster in New Orleans in 2005. But Political Blues isn't strictly an album of protest lyrics; many of the tracks are instrumentals, including Lake's funky "Let's Have Some Fun," Murray's somewhat Ellingtonian "Hal's Blues" and Craig Harris' dusky "Harlem." While some WSQ recordings have favored a saxophone-only policy -- no bass, no drums, no guitar, no brass instruments -- this January 2006 session features several non-sax playing guests. Among them: trombonist Harris, electric bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma, drummer Lee Pearson, trumpeter Jeremy Pelt and guitarist James Blood Ulmer (who is featured as a singer on a spirited performance of Muddy Waters' "Mannish Boy"). Political Blues' mixture of jazz, blues and funk is mildly avant-garde, but it isn't radically avant-garde -- and those who have admired WSQ's spirit of adventure will be happy to know that the saxophonists are still taking chances even at their most accessible.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/20/2006
Label: Justin Time Records
UPC: 0068944022120
catalogNumber: 221
Rank: 163087


  1. Political Blues
  2. Hal's Blues
  3. Mannish Boy
  4. Let's Have Some Fun
  5. Amazin' Disgrace
  6. Bluocracy, Pt. 1
  7. Bluocracy, Pt. 2
  8. Bluocracy, Pt. 3
  9. Blue Diamond
  10. Harlem
  11. Spy on Me Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

World Saxophone Quartet   Primary Artist
Oliver Lake   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Vocals
James Blood Ulmer   Guitar,Vocals
Jamaaladeen Tacuma   Electric Bass
Bruce Williams   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Jeremy Pelt   Trumpet
Jaleel Shaw   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Hervé Samb   Guitar

Technical Credits

Oliver Lake   Composer
Jamaaladeen Tacuma   Composer,Producer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Jim West   Executive Producer
Peter Karl   Engineer

Customer Reviews