This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Point of Departure

Point of Departure

by Gary McFarlandGary McFarland

CD(Special Edition)

$27.34 $27.99 Save 2% Current price is $27.34, Original price is $27.99. You Save 2%.
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on May 29, 2020


This Impulse LP (not yet reissued on CD) was one of vibraphonist Gary McFarland's best recordings. McFarland contributed six of the seven selections (all but the "Love Theme from David and Lisa") and utilizes an all-star sextet filled with colorful soloists: trombonist Willie Dennis, Richie Kamuca on tenor and oboe, guitarist Jimmy Raney, bassist Steve Swallow and drummer Mel Lewis. The music is bop-oriented, but also open to occasional innovations taken from the avant-garde. None of the songs caught on as standards, but they tend to stay in one's mind after finishing the album.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/29/2020
Label: Universal Japan
UPC: 4988031380352
catalogNumber: 1380352
Rank: 189251


  1. Pecos Pete
  2. Love Theme From David and Lisa
  3. Sandpiper
  4. Amour Tormentoso
  5. Schlock-House Blues
  6. I Love to Say Her Name
  7. Hello to the Season

Album Credits