Plow to the End of the Row

Plow to the End of the Row

by Adrienne YoungAdrienne Young


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Adrienne Young & Little Sadie recall Alison Kraus & Union Station in their combination of traditional country and bluegrass sounds with more contemporary tunes, topped by an expressive female singer. The band -- guitarist Tyler Grant, fiddler/mandolin player Clayton Campbell, acoustic bassist Amanda Kowalski, and percussionist Steven Sandifer -- backs Young, who plays guitar and banjo in addition to singing lead vocals on country hoedowns like "Leather Britches"; primitive-sounding recording techniques are even employed on occasion ("Satan, Yer Kingdom Must Come Down") to make the music sound like it comes from long in the past. But, having established its old-timey bona fides, the group proceeds to update things on country-pop songs like "Home Remedy," a duet between Young and Grant that speaks of love in racy modern terms (with "a healthy dose of lust"), and "Poison," which suggests the bandmembers may have U2 in their record collections and which might intrigue country radio programmers. This, then, is a band that covers a lot of bases, which may make it a good match for a younger country audience drawn to traditional music by O Brother, Where Art Thou? but also open to a hybrid approach.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/2004
Label: Addie Belle
UPC: 0828092777729
catalogNumber: L927777
Rank: 75037

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Adrienne Young   Primary Artist,Banjo,Guitar,Vocals,Wurlitzer,Foot Stomping,Group Member
Paul Griffith   Drums,Drum Loop
Billy Myers   Bass
David Henry   Cello
Will Kimbrough   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Mandolin,Accordion,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,French Harp,Guitar (Resonator)
David Jacques   Acoustic Bass,Standup Bass
Rick Lonow   Drums
Steve Ebe   Drums
Todd Schneider   French Harp
Brett Pemberton   Drums
Amanda Kowalski   Upright Bass,Group Member
David Roe   Bass Fiddle
Courtney Little   Guitar,Vocals
Ketch Secor   Banjo,Fiddle,Vocals

Technical Credits

Will Kimbrough   Composer,Producer
Steve Ebe   Sound Effects
Alice Randall   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Adrienne Young   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Concept
Eric McConnell   Engineer
Carter Wood   Composer
Courtney Little   Composer

Customer Reviews