Ploughshares Winter 2007-2008 Guest-Edited by Philip Levine

Ploughshares Winter 2007-2008 Guest-Edited by Philip Levine

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The Winter 2007-2008 issue of Ploughshares, guest-edited by Philip Levine. Ploughshares, a journal of new writing, is guest-edited serially by prominent writers who explore different personal visions, aesthetics, and literary circles.

Guest-edited by American Poet Laureate Philip Levine, the Winter 2007-2008 issue of Ploughshares contains poems and stories from authors such as Billy Collins, Jennifer Haigh, Ehud Havazelet, Yusef Komunyakaa, and Tom Sleigh. In the Introduction to the issue, Levine discusses the nature of being a writer: "One of the glories of writing poetry is just how badly & how often you can fail & still believe in your right & need to make poems; if you have any success at all, it is utterly thrilling."

Full Table of Contents

Philip Levine

Kate Daniels


From "The Condition," by Jennifer Haigh
"Law of Return," by Ehud Havazelet
From "Archangel," by Laurie Sheck
"Quiet," by Lauren K. Watel
"The Sixteenth Section," by Steve Yarbrough


"Jazz Below the Water Line," by James Leigh


Rick Barot
Christian Barter
Paula Bohince
Stephen Burt
Colin Cheney
Suzanne Cleary
Billy Collins
Nicole Cooley
Sally Dawidoff
Peter Everwine
Alice Friman
Jennifer Grotz
C. G. Hanzlicek
Brent Hendricks
David Brendan Hopes
Yusef Komunyakaa
Suzanne Lummis
David Mason
Colleen J. McElroy
Michael Meyerhofer
David Moolten
Tomas Q. Morin
Joan Murray
Tim Nolan
Mary Rose O'Reilley
Linda Pastan
Lucia Perillo
Maxine Scates
Reginald Shepherd
Jason Shinder
Taije Silverman
Tom Sleigh
Terese Svoboda
Brian Swann
Janusz Szuber
Dorothea Tanning
G. C. Waldrep
Anne Pierson Wiese
Robley Wilson
Dean Young


Product Details

BN ID: 2940016400419
Publisher: Ploughshares / Emerson
Publication date: 12/14/2007
Series: Ploughshares Solos , #334
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 214
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

Born in Detroit, Michigan, on January 10, 1928, Philip Levine was formally educated in the Detroit public school system and at Wayne University (now Wayne State University), Michigan's only urban public research university. After graduation, Levine worked a number of industrial jobs, including the night shift at the Chevrolet Gear and Axle factory, reading and writing poems in his off hours. In 1953, he studied at the University of Iowa, earning a Master of Fine Arts degree from the Iowa Writers' Workshop. There, Levine studied with poets Robert Lowell and John Berryman, the latter of which Levine called his "one great mentor."

Levine published his debut collection of poems, On the Edge (The Stone Wall Press), in 1963, followed by Not This Pig (Wesleyan University Press) in 1968.

Since then, Levine has published numerous books of poetry, most recently News of the World (Alfred A. Knopf, 2010); Breath (2004); The Mercy (1999); The Simple Truth (1994), which won the Pulitzer Prize; What Work Is (1991), which won the National Book Award; New Selected Poems (1991); Ashes: Poems New and Old (Atheneum, 1979), which received the National Book Critics Circle Award and the first American Book Award for Poetry; 7 Years From Somewhere (1979), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award; The Names of the Lost (1975), which won the 1977 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize from the Academy of American Poets; and They Feed They Lion (1973).

He taught for many years at California State University, Fresno, and has served as Distinguished Poet in Residence for the Creative Writing Program at New York University.

In 2000, Levine was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. In 2011, Levine was named the 18th U.S. Poet Laureate by the Library of Congress.


Fresno, California

Date of Birth:

January 10, 1928

Place of Birth:

Detroit, Michigan


B.A., Wayne State University; M.F.A., Iowa Writers Workshop, University of Iowa

Customer Reviews