Ploughshares Spring 2004 Guest-Edited by Campbell McGrath

Ploughshares Spring 2004 Guest-Edited by Campbell McGrath

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The Spring 2004 issue of Ploughshares, guest-edited by Campbell McGrath. Ploughshares, a journal of new writing, is guest-edited serially by prominent writers who explore different personal visions, aesthetics, and literary circles.

Edited by award-winning poet Campbell McGrath (Seven Notebooks, In the Kingdom of the Sea Monkeys), this issue features new works from 2009 Inaugural Poet Elizabeth Alexander, Rick Moody (The Ice Storm), Robert Boswell (Century's Son, American Owned Love) Bob Hicok (Elegy Owned), and National Book Award Finalist Kevin Young (Ardency). McGrath asserts that his issue of Ploughshares is "in touch with the evolving edge of America's cultural consciousness in a remarkable way," and "preserves a vision of literature as an ingenious human invention among whose many functions fostering delight remains not only viable but essential."

Campbell McGrath


"City Bus," by Robert Boswell
"The Grotto," by Robert Olen Butler
"The Ashtray," by Rachel Carpenter
"Hangzhou 1925," by Lan Samantha Chang
"Swing," by Stuart Dybek
"The Free Library," by Rick Moody
"Boyfriends," by Cynthia Weiner


Elizabeth Alexander
Dick Allen
Sally Ball
Richard Blanco
Ron Block
Catherine Bowman
Nick Carbó
Scott Coffel
Michael Collier
Cynie Cory
Jim Daniels
Denise Duhamel
Eric Elshtain
Beth Ann Fennelly
Daisy Fried
John Gallaher
Robert Gibb
Barbara Hamby
Kerry Hardie
James Harms
Lola Haskins
Bob Hicok
Tony Hoagland
Tung-Hui Hu
Susan Hutton
Jonathan Johnson
Peter Johnson
David Keplinger
David Kirby
Bill Knott
Sarah Magnuso
Duibusui D. Martinez
Rita Maria Martinez
Jean Monahan
Ander Monson
William Olsen
Barbara J. Orton
Alan Michael Parker
Ricardo Pau-Llosa
Kevin Prufer
Maureen Seaton
Jay Snodgrass
Eleanor Stanford
Virgil Suarez
Jennifer Tseng
Chase Twitchell
Karen Volkman
Charles Harper Webb
Kevin Young

by Joel Brouwer

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148452829
Publisher: Ploughshares
Publication date: 04/01/2004
Series: Ploughshares , #301
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 189
File size: 873 KB

About the Author

Campbell McGrath is the author of nine books of poetry, most recently In the Kingdom of the Sea Monkeys (Ecco Press, 2012). He has received numerous awards, including a MacArthur Genius award, the Kingsley Tufts Prize, the Cohen Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and a Witter-Bynner Fellowship from the Library of Congress. McGrath lives in Miami Beach with his wife and two sons and teaches in the MFA program at Florida International University.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews