Pub. Date:
Ploughshares Spring 1998 Guest-Edited by Stuart Dybek and Jane Hirshfield

Ploughshares Spring 1998 Guest-Edited by Stuart Dybek and Jane Hirshfield

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The Spring 1998 issue of Ploughshares, guest-edited by Stuart Dybek & Jane Hirshfield. Ploughshares, a journal of new writing, is guest-edited serially by prominent writers who explore different personal visions, aesthetics, and literary circles.

Table of Contents

Stuart Dybek
Jane Hirshfield

Don Lee
Peter Harris

"Islands," by Aleksandar Hemon
"The Change," by Valerie Martin
"Bad Jews," by Gerald Shapiro
"The Scarf," by Joyce Carol Oates
"The Old Woman and Her Thief," by William Lychack
"A Radically Condensed History of Postindustrial Life," by David Foster Wallace

Excerpts from "Falsies" by Kelly Simon

Al Young
Robert Wrigley
Renee Weiss
Theodore Weiss
David Wagoner
Eve Sutton
Virgil Suarez
Peter Jay Shippy
Kay Ryan
Liz Rosenberg
Donald Platt
Linda Pastan
Suzanne Paola
Carol Muske-Dukes
Joseph Millar
Gwyn McVay
Stefanie Marlis
Peter Marcus
Morton Marcus
Fred Marchant
William Logan
Dorianne Laux
Ruth Ellen Kocher
Colette Inez
Jeffrey Harrison
Sam Hamill
Debora Greger
Ted Genoways
Kenny Fries
Herman Fong
Patricia Fargnoli
Laura Fargas
Stephen Dunn
Sharon Dolin
Chard deNiord
Michael Cuddihy
Pam Crow
Joel Brouwer
David Bottoms
Bruce Bond
Karen Benke
Molly Bendall
Nathaniel Bellows
Dan Bellm
Bruce Beasley
David Baker
Nin Andrews
Sandra Alcosser
Kim Addonizio

Don Lee

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148561026
Publisher: Ploughshares / Emerson College
Publication date: 04/01/1998
Series: Ploughshares , #241
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 225
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Stuart Dybek, a former guest editor for Ploughshares, is the author of three books of fiction and two books of poetry. Two new collections of his fiction are scheduled to be published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux in Spring 2014. “Misterioso,” the short piece in the Fall 2013 issue, will appear in one of the upcoming books.

Jane Hirshfield is the author of seven poetry collections, including the newly published COME, THIEF (Knopf, 2011), AFTER (HarperCollins, 2006) and GIVEN SUGAR, GIVEN SALT (HarperCollins, 2011). She is also the author of a now-classic collection of essays, NINE GATES: ENTERING THE MIND OF POETRY (HarperCollins, 1997). Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The Times Literary Supplement, McSweeney's, Poetry, The American Poetry Review, and six editions of THE BEST AMERICAN POETRY. Her honors include fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Academy of American Poets.

Customer Reviews