Plays Duke Ellington [Bonus Tracks]

Plays Duke Ellington [Bonus Tracks]

by Ben WebsterBen Webster


$18.05 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.05, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


Although he was only a member of Duke Ellington's orchestra for three years, tenor saxophonist Ben Webster was linked with Duke Ellington throughout his career. This Storyville release features the great tenor playing nine songs associated with Ellington. The music is drawn from five separate sessions, including trio gigs with pianists Kenny Drew and Teddy Wilson and three with the Danish Radio Band. The emphasis is on up-tempo pieces such as "Perdido," "Rockin' in Rhythm," and "Stompy Jones"; special highlights include two very different versions of "Cottontail." [The expanded edition of this album features live renditions of "Satin Doll" and "Things Ain't What They Used to Be."]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/06/2002
Label: Storyville Records
UPC: 0717101832026
catalogNumber: 8320
Rank: 115520


  1. Cotton Tail
  2. Johnny Come Lately
  3. Perdido
  4. In a Mellow Tone
  5. Bojangles
  6. Rockin' in Rhythm
  7. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  8. Stompy Jones
  9. Cotton Tail
  10. Satin Doll
  11. Things Ain't What They Used to Be

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ben Webster   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Kenny Drew   Piano
Red Mitchell   Bass
Teddy Wilson   Piano
Palle Mikkelborg   Trumpet
Jesper Thilo   Saxophone
Palle Bolvig   Trumpet
Allan Botschinsky   Trumpet
Bobby Brooks   Drums
Erling Christensen   Saxophone
Clark Terry   Trumpet,Vocals
Albert "Tootie" Heath   Drums
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen   Bass
Ole Kurt Jensen   Trombone
Uffe Karskov   Saxophone
Perry Knudsen   Trumpet
Erling Kroner   Trombone
Svend Lundvig   Trumpet
Flemming Madsen   Saxophone
Ole Molin   Guitar
Ray Pitts   Conductor
Hugo Rasmussen   Bass
Bjarne Rostvold   Conga,Drums
William Schiopffe   Drums
Axel Windfel   Trombone
Finn Ziegler   Vibes
Niels Jorgen Steen   Piano,Conductor
Ole Kock Hansen   Piano
Per Espersen   Trombone
Ib Glindeman   Conductor
Henry Henkel   Trumpet
Kurt Jarnberg   Trombone
Poul Jorgensen   Trombone
Poul Keldgard   Trombone
Arne Lamberth   Trumpet
Makaya Ntsoko   Drums
John Steffensen   Conga
Bent Juul Nielsen   Saxophone
Helmuth Hjorth Hansen   Trombone
Torolf Mølgård   Trombone

Technical Credits

Mercer Ellington   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Milt Gabler   Composer
Karl Emil Knudsen   Executive Producer
Brian Priestley   Liner Notes
Anders Stefansen   Producer
Ted Persons   Composer
Hans Lengsfelder   Composer

Customer Reviews