by Moby Moby


by Moby Moby


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 7


Before Fatboy Slim and Prodigy took dance music up the pop charts, a kid from Connecticut with a background in punk rock and hip-hop hit huge with a record called "Go," soon ascending to become techno's first star. With classics like Everything Is Wrong and the Move EP, Moby made techno so euphorically exciting even rock 'n' rollers couldn't ignore it, and he continued to push boundaries with forays into heavy metal and film music. In that tradition, Moby's new Play is his most adventurous album to date. Throughout, the maestro ingeniously hops around the map. Blues vocals and field recordings (gathered by ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax in the '30s) are sampled above florid hip-hop beats ("Honey"); a simpering slide guitar gels with an elegiac, gospel-tinged pop anthem ("South Side"); punk guitars rip through a funky street jam ("Bodyrock"). Of course, there's also enough straight-ahead techno and ambient music to satisfy longtime fans, but the heart of this excellent album is a restless sense of experimentation that passes over the block-rockin' beats and instead pursues a few fascinating avenues of expression.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/2002
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 5016025611720
catalogNumber: 256117
Rank: 10143


  1. Honey
  2. Find My Baby
  3. Porcelain
  4. Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?
  5. South Side
  6. Rushing
  7. Bodyrock
  8. Natural Blues
  9. Machete
  10. 7
  11. Run On
  12. Down Slow
  13. If Things Were Perfect
  14. Everloving
  15. Inside
  16. Guitar Flute & String
  17. Sky Is Broken
  18. My Weakness

Album Credits

Customer Reviews