Platinum & Gold Collection

Platinum & Gold Collection

by StarshipStarship


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


There have been two American Starship compilations prior to BMG Heritage's 2004 Platinum & Gold Collection -- 1991's Ten Years and Change, which also covered some Jefferson Starship recordings, and the 1993 budget release Best of Starship, which didn't have their biggest hit, "We Built This City." So, there was a good reason to release this Platinum & Gold Collection, since there hadn't been a good collection to focus on Starship-only recordings, and this fits the bill quite nicely, since it contains all of their hits outside their final charting single, "Good Heart," which scraped the bottom of the charts in 1991. In other words, it has everything that anyone could want -- namely, the big three singles of "We Built This City," "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now," and "Sara," plus lesser-known (but still relatively popular) hits like "It's Not Over ('Til It's Over)" and "Tomorrow Doesn't Matter Tonight." While this music has dated over the years -- few artists capture the sound of synthesized, anthemic late-'80s mainstream rock better than Starship -- anybody looking for the group's hits, either as a nostalgia trip or as a dutiful fan of Jefferson Airplane, should turn here.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/13/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766112320
catalogNumber: 61123
Rank: 2945

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Starship   Primary Artist
Grace Slick   Vocals
Paul Kantner   Guitar
Mickey Thomas   Vocals
Craig Chaquico   Guitar
Donnie Baldwin   Drums

Technical Credits

Robbie Nevil   Composer
Starship   Producer
Albert Hammond   Composer
Johnny Warman   Composer
Michael Clark   Composer
Martin Page   Composer
John Bettis   Composer
Bill Bottrell   Remixing
Tommy Funderburk   Composer
Phil Galdston   Composer
Phil Gladston   Producer
Larry Klein   Producer
Dennis Lambert   Composer,Executive Producer
Robert John "Mutt" Lange   Composer
Narada Michael Walden   Arranger,Producer
Keith Olsen   Producer
Mike Shipley   Producer
Jeremy Smith   Producer,Audio Production
Bernie Taupin   Composer
John Van Tongeren   Composer
Diane Warren   Composer
Ina Wolf   Composer
David Roberts   Composer
Ken Sharp   Liner Notes
Mathieu Bitton   Art Direction
Robert Randall   Composer
Jeremy Holiday   Liner Notes
Steven Cristol   Composer
Peter Wolf   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production

Customer Reviews