Pinkertons, Prostitutes and Spies: The Civil War Adventures of Secret Agents Timothy Webster and Hattie Lawton

Pinkertons, Prostitutes and Spies: The Civil War Adventures of Secret Agents Timothy Webster and Hattie Lawton

by John Stewart


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Hattie Lawton was a young Pinkerton detective who with her partner, Timothy Webster, spied for the U.S. Secret Service during the Civil War. Working in Richmond, the two posed as husband and wife. A dazzling blonde from New York and a handsome Englishman, both with checkered pasts, they were matched in charm, cunning, duplicity and boldness. Betrayed by their own spymaster, Allan Pinkerton, they fell into the hands of the dictator of Richmond, the notorious General John H. "Hog" Winder.
This lively history, scrupulously researched from all available sources, corrects the record on many points and definitively answers the long-standing question of Hattie Lawton's true identity.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476679075
Publisher: McFarland & Company, Incorporated Publishers
Publication date: 06/28/2019
Pages: 241
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.49(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

The late John Stewart was the author of nonfiction books on a variety of topics including African states and rulers, Antarctica, the British Empire, Moons of the solar system, Italian movies, Broadway musicals, the British circus, Lord Byron, and the flight of the Confederate government from Richmond. Winner of numerous reference book awards, he lived in West Jefferson, North Carolina.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vi

Prologue: The Trip of a Lifetime 1

Introduction: The Trapping of Hattie Lawton 5

 1. One of Mother Fisher’s Children 13

 2. The Taking On of Kate Warn 16

 3. The Brothers Warn 22

 4. My Name Is Timothy Webster 24

 5. Bridge Master with a Secret 26

 6. The Baltimore Plot 32

 7. The End of Mary Ellen Bailey 39

 8. Hattie and Tim Join the Secret Service 45

 9. The ­India-Rubber Doll 46

10. The First Trip 48

11. The Miller’s Hotel Caper 49

12. The Second Trip 51

13. The Third Trip 54

14. The Fourth Trip 58

15. Lewis and Scully 61

16. The Pryce Lewis “Memoirs” 67

17. The Two Most Inept Spies in the World 70

18. Things Go Horribly Wrong 72

19. That Letter Has Sealed My Fate 76

20. Alone but for Specters 77

21. Mrs. Taylor 79

22. Scully’s Trial 80

23. Pryce Lewis’s Trial 81

24. The Priest, the Consul and a Deal 83

25. The Day They Came for Tim and Hattie 86

26. The Gag Order 90

27. The Trial of Tim 97

28. Post Trial 102

29. The Fatal Day Draws Nigh 104

30. The Morning of the Big Day 107

31. Tim Swings 110

32. Post Gibbet 113

33. The Languishing of Mrs. Timothy Webster 115

34. Hattie Gets Out 124

35. Notre Dame 129

36. Little Johnny and the Lost Cabin Mine 131

37. Post Pike’s Peak Syndrome 133

38. The Death of Kate Warn 135

39. Kate Warn’s Successor 137

40. The Portrait of Kate Warne 138

41. Carrie Lawton 140

42. Gambling Man 151

43. Warn Castle 155

44. The James Gang 156

45. Death by Poppy 156

46. Out on the Old Bozeman Trail 160

47. Three Girls Bonded for Eternity 162

Appendix A: The Warn Family 169

Appendix B: George Warn at Notre Dame 171

Appendix C: H.H.L. 173

Appendix D: Online 176

Chapter Notes 181

Bibliography 220

Index 227

Customer Reviews