Penny and Her Marble

Penny and Her Marble

by Kevin Henkes

NOOK Book(NOOK Kids Read to Me)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third I Can Read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin's front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It's a beautiful marble—it's big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Penny and Her Marble is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

Don't miss Penny's newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062082060
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/27/2013
Series: I Can Read Book 1 Series
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 48
Sales rank: 533,727
Lexile: 470L (what's this?)
File size: 21 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

Hometown:

Madison, Wisconsin

Date of Birth:

November 27, 1960

Place of Birth:

Racine, Wisconsin

Education:

University of Wisconsin, Madison

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Penny and Her Marble 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
kleej More than 1 year ago
How can you not love kevin henkes?? this is just the sweetest book about honesty and integrity written for a 3-6 year old. He always has a way with words so you can really feel for the character and fall in love. Not even to mention his amazing illustrations! I wish my whole house was decorated in his drawing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago