by David SanbornDavid Sanborn


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


David Sanborn is joined on this CD by an orchestra arranged by Johnny Mandel for a set of music dominated by melodic versions of standards. Sanborn does not get all that far away from the themes (which include "Try a Little Tenderness," "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," "For All We Know," "This Masquerade" and a very emotional "Everything Must Change" in addition to a few newer songs) but his sound is so soulful and full of passion that he does not really need to improvise much to make his point. It's a fine change of pace for the highly influential altoist.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/28/1995
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0075596175920
catalogNumber: 61759
Rank: 38484

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Sanborn   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone
Mark Egan   Bass
Oleta Adams   Keyboards,Vocals
Don Grolnick   Keyboards
Little Jimmy Scott   Vocals
Don Alias   Percussion
Kenny Barron   Keyboards
Steve Gadd   Drums
Christian McBride   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Marcus Miller   Bass,Bass Guitar
Mark Eagan   Fretless Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

John Purcell   Sax Consultant
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Joe Ferla   Engineer
Tommy LiPuma   Producer
Johnny Mandel   Arranger,Producer
Eddie Martinez   Arranger
Joe Pirrera   Engineer
Schmitt   Engineer
Carl Glanville   Engineer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Steve Byram   Art Direction
Greg Pinto   Engineer

Customer Reviews